Processed with Snapseed.
Garden Route Self Catering Accommodation

Forest Edge Guest Reviews

what guests say about Forest Edge (latest first)

*** Here follows most recent feedback (past year or so) Sourced from written guestbook¬† and/or official electronic feedback forms. You can also see the older guest feedback HERE. We also occasionally receive less glowing letters…luckily they refer back to 2010 ūüôā

*** NOTE: if you have seen this page before, refresh (CNTRL-F5) to see new additions ūüôā

“Absolutely magical experience, perfect in every way. The scenery, staff, cottage…everything…¬†picture perfect and extremely enjoyable. ¬†”¬†– Angelique Joseph, Germiston, November 2018

brilliant accommodation if you want to re-energize”¬†– Erik Kriek, Mossel Bay, November 2018

“dit was verskriklik baie lekker! het lekker geslaap en gerus! baie mooi! ”¬†– Reinhardt van Eck, Lovemore PE, November 2018

Very nice and quiet place and kind people!”¬†– Jessica Jacobs, Netherlands, November 2018

dit is ‘n ongelooflike plek, en sal enige persoon verwys na die plek. Ons het heerlik gebly en wou net nog bly. Komplimente aan die bestuur van Forest Edge”¬†– Monica Doman, Caledon, November 2018

“Thank you very much! Will be recommended to friends and family.”¬†– Pieter Maritz, Stellenbosch, November 2018

“Very friendly and efficient staff. Lovely surroundings and the cottage was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and the lily pond deck is a fabulous place to eat. ”¬†– Ginny Burgoyne, UK, November 2018

Great place to come to spend time with your loved ones.”¬†– Dru Fosbrook, Plettenberg Bay, November 2018

Will recommend to everybody. peaceful and quiet. ”¬†– Christa Neethling, Jeffreysbay, November 2018

Couldn’t have chosen a better place to celebrate our honeymoon.”¬†– Lynn Willemse, Eersterivier, November 2018

Absolutely wonderful¬†stay!”¬†– Robert Bibbey, UK, November 2018

“What a wonderful experience in the forest with lovely cottages that is very clean and neat and set out well equipped with everything that you need. Its nice and quite with all the nature sounds of animals. WE all enjoyed our stay the staff and the service is excellent. Thank you for the wonderful friendly weekend. ”¬†–¬†Tanja van Eyk, PE , November 2018

“What a fantastic place to relax and break free from everyday life! Second time here…third time will be soon… ”¬†– Michelle Kleinhans, Port Elizabeth, November 2018

“If you need a very relaxed and resting place in the beautiful nature, this is the perfect place and value for money! ”¬†– Johan Koch, Somerset West, November 2018

“We felt like at home in forest edge. The house is well equipped and the surrounding is peaceful and marvellous. Hosts are really sympathetic. We will come back! ”¬†– Walter Aulmann, Germany, November 2018

A magical honeymoon experience. Our hosts anticipated our every need. By day, Forest Edge was a perfect base for exploring Knysna and Plett. The forest sounds and starry skies at night were unforgettable. We wish we could stay longer, and will definitely be back. ”¬†– Katharine Kyriacou, Cape Town, November 2018

Thank you for making our 20th wedding anniversary special. The accommodation and hospitality was outstanding! Thank you Dries and Susan for your special care. ”¬†– Warren Petersen, Paarl, October 2018

uitsonderlike netjiese verblyf!!! sal dit vir al my vriende aanbeveel en beslis weer kom”¬†– Estelle Van der Merwe, Sandbaai, October 2018

Tranquil and restful environment. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. ”¬†– Jolien De Klerk, Erasmuskloof, October 2018

“A wonderful experience. Exceptionally clean, and everything available for your comfort. Highly recommended.”¬†– Karen De Klerk, George, October 2018

“excellent service, had a lovely stay. Definitely your money’s worth, also very interesting facts and love all the things to do in the cottage. Movies, books, cards. Would definitely recommend for a family breakaway as well the children would especially love the fireflies just after sunset in spring. ”¬†– Gert Van Niekerk, Gordonsbaai, October 2018

“Lovely friendly people and the frogs serenade you at night.”¬†– Michael Eedes, Cape Town, October 2018

“had a lovely stay – beautiful surroundings tranquil”¬†– Davy Smeda, Cape Town, October 2018

“Very pleasant stay, kids loved it. Susan and Dries are the most wonderful hosts!”¬†– Patrick Borstner Ceballos, Cape Town, October 2018

“Forest Edge is an amazing family get away where you can relax and make special memories. Really enjoyed our time here – we will be back and recommend this gem! Thank you! ”¬†– Rachel Johnson, Durbanville, October 2018

“Excellent for peaceful and quite break away from the busy city life. Staff friendly, facilities more than enough for a bush break away. ”¬†– Johan Fourie, Pretoria,¬†October 2018

Very beautiful nature, warm people, a bit of paradise ”¬†– Jens Beckers, Belgium, October 2018

“Forest Edge is a gem in Knysna, a must visit to recharge your batteries. Dan and Amanda are wonderful hosts and gave us a great taste of South Africa. The food supplied was brilliant and sooooo tasty (breakfast and dinner on the Lilly Pond Deck). We can’t wait to come back to see you all again. Thank you for everything. ”¬†– Darren Quinn, Dublin,¬†October 2018

Fire flies – outdoor shower – silent evenings – fresh forest air – amazing drupkelders hike… lots of joy… The jewel of the Garden Route. A perfect stay.”¬†–¬†Renate, Norah, Rita and Linda, Mosselbaai,¬†¬†September¬†2018

Thank you for a wonderful and warm stay. Wish we could have stayed longer! Very peaceful and friendly.”¬†– Mareike Kramper, Cape Town ,¬†¬†September¬†2018

“wonderful, peaceful retreat. meticulous attention to detail.”¬†– Harris Burman, Hout Bay,¬†¬†September¬†2018

Baie lekker gebly. geen klagtes. Baie dankie, sien julle binnekort weer.”¬†– Anthony Schlemmer, PE,¬†¬†September¬†2018

What a great family holiday, nature walks, games in front of the fire and the peace and quiet is amazing! Great sites all around the facility and wonderful information about local spots to visit.”¬†– Alana James, Cape Town,¬†¬†September¬†2018

“Lovely experience. Very relaxing and welcoming. Outdoor shower is awesome! ”¬†– Carla Schoeman, Cape Town,¬†¬†September¬†2018

“Excellent place to stay. House has everything, setting unbeatable, close to Knysna.”¬†– Hayes Otto, Boknes,¬†¬†September¬†2018

Best getaway ever. LOVE THE DECK! Our souls have been soothed! ¬†”¬†– Alta Barnard, Knysna,¬†¬†September¬†2018

“Dit was vreeslik lekker. Alles is pragtig en die ontvangs die beste ooit. Baie dankie, sien definitief weer. ”¬†– Heidi Pienaar, Mosselbaai,¬† September¬†2018

“Thank you for the 2 night stay the self catering cottage was lovely and friendly people. ”¬†– Tony Molyneaux, Durban,¬† September¬†2018

would love to do it again. ”¬†– Jack Onderstall, Bloemfontein,¬† September¬†2018

“Thank you so much for a wonderful stay in this beautiful place. We enjoyed the cottage, the grounds, the meals and the company. We will definitely recommend to others and return ourselves. ”¬†– Amy Richter, Grahamstown,¬† August¬†2018

“Wat ‘n wonderlike ervaring beslis nie net ‘n lekker vakansie nie! Maar so lekker kuier met sulke oulike personeel. Geen beter manier om ‘n dag te begin as ‘n heerlike ontbyt met goeie geselskap nie. Rustigheid en skoonheid is daar geen beter plek om te gaan as Forest Edge nie. Ons sal enige tyd weer na Forest Edge toe kom nie net vir ‘n wegbreek van die stad nie, maar ook vir die ervaring van liefde volle mense wat mens tuis en welkom laat voel. Ons sal Forest Edge aan almal aanbeveel. Ons kan nie wag vir ons volgende ervaring by Forest Edge. Baie dankie vir ‘n Fantastiese ervaring Forest Edge.”¬†– Pieter Muller, Cape Town,¬† August¬†2018

“Thank you for an amazing weekend. The tranquility and serenity provided by this establishment was exactly what was required. An absolutely beautiful destination in the heart of nature. Thank you for the excellent hospitality and great conversation. Looking forward to our next stay! ”¬†– Ashley Van Den Heever, Kraaifontein,¬† August¬†2018

“We had a wonderful stay, such a treat to be so close to the forest. Thanks for been such great hosts Susan & Dries, we had a lovely circle walk and saw Loeries xx ”¬†– Coco Van Oppens, Cape Town,¬† August¬†2018

“Really well appointed and good value place to stay. Definitely try the various hikes in the forest area. ”¬†– Jeremy Howard, Cape Town,¬† August¬†2018

It is a delightful place to stay, both the chalet and the beautiful, serene surroundings!”¬†– Danie Koekemoer, Thabazimbi,¬†August¬†2018

“What a nice place!!! A little peace of heaven! We will definitely come back!”¬†– Lindi Smith, Brackenfell,¬† August¬†2018

Great stay as per normal will 100% be back… ”¬†– Olga McIntyre, Gordons Bay,¬† August¬†2018

“We had an amazing, awesome special time – best place for a 30th anniversary!! ”¬†– Phillip Terblanche, Jeffreys Bay,¬†August¬†2018

“Thank you for a wonderful stay, we really enjoyed the peaceful surrounds and perfectly well equipped cottage. ”¬†– Samantha Turner, Cape Town,¬†¬† August¬†2018

What an absolute blessing it has been to stay here. The serenity, the beauty, the nature sounds – all has amazed me and truly blessed us. Thank you for catering so well for our entire family. A Special Thanks to the very dear Dries & Susan – your hospitality was a true highlight for us. Much Love.”¬†– The Hanekoms,¬† Cape Town,¬† July¬†2018

“Forest Edge is the perfect getaway for people, who love nature and being in the outdoors, but are also looking for all the homely comforts you are used to. ”¬†– Matthew Dunbar, Cape Town,¬† July¬†2018

The cottage is so cosy and homely and the atmosphere is serene. The managers and staff is so friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our lovely breakfast on the deck every morning – thank you Dries & Danie.”¬†– Noleen & Chris Lottering,¬†Cape Town,¬† July¬†2018

Baie ontspannend, die kinders het dit baie geniet. Ons sal weer wil kom maar vir langer. ”¬†– Werner Jacobs, Mosselbaai,¬†July¬†2018

“Very friendly staff and personnel. Beautiful environment, great bird-watching, mountain biking etc. Beyond our expectations! ”¬†– Kate Jenkins, Stellenbosch,¬† July¬†2018

“Excellent! We loved the Braai on the deck”¬†– Bremers-klavers – Netherlands,¬† July¬†2018

We love coming here. We will definitely be back again.”¬†– Hazel Bethel, Welgemoed,¬† July¬†2018

stunning, relaxing, wonderful experience”¬†– Christy-Jay Van Zyl, Plumstead,¬† July¬†2018

Lovely relaxing time in the nature.”¬†– Bernadine Johnstone, Claremont,¬† July¬†2018

Fantastic experience, child friendly, and very peaceful”¬†– Janine Fourie, Somerset Wes,¬† July¬†2018

“Absolutely fantastic. The chalets were so cozy and welcoming. Our children loved exploring. We would absolutely come back. ”¬†– Adam Cowley, Cape Town,¬† July¬†2018

“Very cosy and comfortable stay. We have had a great relaxing two days.”¬†– Johan Olivier, Bellville,¬† July¬†2018

Wonderful stay thank you very – just what I needed.”¬†– Richard Bennett, UK,¬† July¬†2018

“The perfect spot for a planned visit to the Milkwood Forest. Comfortable with many extras such as electric blankets, picnic blankets, hammocks etc. Restful and peaceful and we will definitely be back. ”¬†– Diane McCann, Cape Town,¬† July¬†2018

Very great stay here at the forest’s edge, we will definitely be back next year”¬†– Kulthum Fataar, Cape Town,¬† July¬†2018

“We had an amazing time. The facilities are amazing, clean and perfect. We will be back for sure.”¬†– Marius Nel, Blouberg CT,¬† July¬†2018

Really a wonderful peaceful environment.”¬†– Liezel Jooste, Port Elizabeth,¬† July¬†2018

“Lovely location and experience. Great place for family and kids. ”¬†– Natasha Stanham, Port Elizabeth,¬† July¬†2018

“We’ve had a wonderful time at Forest Edge. We loved all the attention to detail and extras included in the cottage. It made us feel at home and we appreciated everything! Thank you for the wonderful welcoming experience and all the detailed information provided to make it a very special “one of a kind” experience. ”¬†– Marietjie De Kock, Somerset Wes ,¬†July 2018

very nice eco environment next to amazing forest”¬†– Lindsay Von Bach, Somerset Wes,¬† July¬†2018

“Just the place to unwind and relax. Quiet and beautifully maintained.”¬†– Neil Boonzaier, Cape Town,¬† July¬†2018

A lovely relaxing stay. Very enjoyable.”¬†– Nicky Grobler, Port Elizabeth,¬† July¬†2018

“One of the most peaceful areas and settings we’ve been to!!”¬†– Nicola Leary, Cape Town,¬†June 2018

“Thank you so much .. It was an amazing experience and will definitely be back very soon.”¬†– Michelle Van Huyssteen, Durbanville,¬†June 2018

Puik en uitstekende diens en verblyf!!! Baie dankie Dries en Susan!!! Julle is puik!Sal verseker weer kom kuier!!!”¬†– Jan de Klerk, Bloemfontein,¬†June 2018

“Beautiful cottages, right next to the Knysna forest, my daughter enjoyed the play area. Thanks for a lovely stay. ”¬†– Robyn Giles, Kenilworth,¬†June 2018

very peaceful, beautiful setting, wish we could have stayed longer”¬†– Jennifer Butt,¬†June 2018

Superb holiday accommodation.”¬†– Sharon Porter, Knysna,¬†June 2018

“This was probably the best vacation experience ever, from booking, to reception and stay. We enjoyed it soooo much. This is really a gem. Keep up the good work. LOVED it.”¬†– Rouvay Wilding, Somerset Wes,¬†June 2018¬†“

Thank you for a wonderful stay! We really enjoyed it here, loved the peaceful surroundings and the very well equipped cottage. Was wonderful to have some time out to destress and my girls had a fabulous time too!¬†”¬†– Bronwyn Godinho, Mosselbay, June 2018

“Baie Dankie vir n fantastiese verblyf, dit is n hidden Gem!! Kos vir die siel!! ”¬†– Hetsie Otto, Cape Town,¬†June 2018

“Ons het soos voorheen heeeerlik gebly. Die stilte van die bos hier teen ons, paddatjie- en vo√ęlgeluide is ‘n ongelooflike lafenis! Die brekfis smullekker en die personeel so vriendelik. Sal beslis net weer en weer wil kom. ”¬†– Elna Oosthuizen, PE, June 2018

“Wow! Ongelooflike lekker tyd as pas getroude paartjie gehad! Baie dankie vir julle pragtige plek, pragtige mense en lekker kos! Dankie dat ons julle kon deel maak van ons nuwe lewensreis en dat julle soveel moeite gedoen het! Ons hoop om julle sommer gou weer te sien!”¬†– Bruce & Estie Niewoudt, Pretoria, June 2018

“it was absolutely peaceful and relaxing with a great ambiance and scenery – it’s a great space to escape the bustle of life and really unwind. It was a great way to spend my birthday weekend with being treated to some chocolates and wine to celebrate on arrival, the management couple was really friendly and informative. Highly recommend! ”¬†– Cheron de Andrade, Stellenbosch,¬†May 2018

“Staff was very professional and friendly. Cottages clean and neat. Surrounding area amazing with beautiful views and nature experience.”¬†– Wayne Le Roux, Hermanus,¬†May 2018

Peaceful, well kept, tranquil. just like home ūüôā”¬†– Nick Pienaar, Cape Town,¬†May 2018

‘n Heerlike bos vakansie! Alles is so netjies en betowerend mooi! Sien julle hopenlik gou weer!¬†– Jani Malherbe, Stellenbosch, May 2018

“Loved our stay here. Peaceful, quiet and romantic. Would recommend the honeymoon package.”¬†–¬†Elmien Classen, George,¬†May 2018

“‘n Wegbreek ervaring van uitstaande gehalte wat onvergelykbaar is.¬†– Belinda Kriel, George,¬†May 2018

Was here on honeymoon Рwhat an amazing experience! The beauty of nature, the amazing breakfasts, the accommodating, friendly & wonderful staff and the romance of a log fire in the evenings Рas far as holidays go Рthe bar has been set extremely high on this our first one together. The wonderful memories we have made here will carry us through the tough times. See you soon! РCaroline Mocke (nee Erasmus), Mpumalanga, May 2018

“Stunning environment. Loved being surrounded by nature”¬†– Sharon Porter, Knysna, May 2018

“It was very nice! Thank you so much. ¬†– Danielle Harmse, Swakopmund, May 2018

Great place for families and friends to explore, lots of space which is great, breakfast and dinner on the deck is great. We loved feeding the donkeys and foraging for vegetables in the veggie patch. Rosie loved the playground and the DVDs at night. Great detail of providing kids surprise and hammock by the cottage ūüôā ”¬†– Jessy Lipperts, Greenpoint, May 2018

“This was our second time here. Absolutely love this place. Like before we have absolutely no complaints, everything was perfect!! This is truly a gem of a place which could not be bettered in any way!!”¬†– Carine Louw, Namibie, May 2018

We loved the quietness of the area and felt really peaceful. Lovely accommodation and felt really like a home from home.”¬†– Derek Fitzmaurice, Pinelands, May 2018

We love it here and we did not want to leave. The kids enjoyed a visit from the rabbit and the playground. The staff is so friendly too. Forest Edge has become our second home. God bless you. РTumi & Phil Johnson, May 2018

Many thanks for the wonderful experience. The accommodation was lovely, clean and comfortable. Your hospitality was warm, generous and thank you for always going the extra mile.”¬†– Jason Ipfatsiong, Glenvista, JHB, April 2018

Baie lekkker naweek. Perseel in puik kondisie. Sal enige een aanbeveel om Forest Edge te besoek ¬†“¬†– Melanie Harvey, Port Elizabeth, April 2018

“Beautiful forest experience, definitely¬†one for the bucket list!¬†– Deenishree Pillay, Rondebosch, April 2018

“The overall experience was very good. We enjoyed the stay, the hospitality and nature.¬†– Thurston Adams, Kraaifontein, April 2018

“well managed and nice place to come and relax¬†– Wynand Bodenstein, JHB, April 2018

“we had a great time, very peaceful and like that everything is sustainable ¬†– Gabriele Davidson, Cape Town, April 2018

Absolutely stunning place. Everything one could possibly want to make ones stay more than comfortable. Would recommend this as a fantastic getaway to anyone who loves nature and being in the wild! “¬†– Anton and Jackie Le Roux, Roodepoort, April 2018

“What an unusual venue – quiet and so peaceful. Away from the hussle of the town. Just lovely.¬†– Herman Bekker, Magaliesberg, April 2018

very friendly hosting, very nice and peaceful place to stay, suitable for kids “¬†– Susanne Gellweiler, Germany, April 2018

“Unique place in comparison with the other accommodation facilities used in Western Cape “¬†– Jean-Louis Delbende, France, April 2018

“What an amazing stay at Forest Edge, we will recommend Forest Edge to everyone. Staff and management very friendly making your stay very comfortable and pleasant. ¬†– Cheneille Morkel, Kuilsriver Cape Town, April 2018

“just the most beautiful experience, true Food For The Soul, thank you so much x”¬†– Dr Tim Hepplestone, JHB, April 2018

We were so amazed about Danie and Amanda! They are so caring and charming, explaining everything so nicely so that everyone understands. It`s very obvious that they run the forest edge with lots of love! “¬†– Katja Hanke, Germany, April 2018

“everything perfect!!!”¬†– Jan Du Toit, Tulbagh, April 2018

“A perfect visit in all respects.”¬†– Megan McGowen, Wynberg,¬†April 2018

“Stay was extremely enjoyable. We would definitely recommend.”¬†– Josef Van Wyngaard, George, April 2018

We had a wonderful time surrounded by nature. The braai in the evening is a must РDanie is a natural braaimaster /gourmet chef! Thanks very much Amanda and Danie РJustin Stander, Cape Town, April 2018

“Lovely, and peaceful stay away from the hustle and bustle of city life.”¬†–¬†Ruby Sandler, Cape Town, April 2018

“A wonderful hidden treat. Would love to return.”¬†– Kim Jones, Cape Town, April 2018

Everything was so excellent, there is no complaints. We had the best time here and will certainly return and recommend to anyone we know! “¬†– Jacorene Coetzee, Wolseley, April 2018

“We came to Forest Edge on the recommendation of friends and we would definitely recommend it to others. “¬†– Andrew Wright, Fish Hoek, April 2018

“This place is absolutely amazing. I will recommend it to any nature lover or someone who love peace and quite. The people, the facilities, the food, just the general feel of the place made me fall in love with it. We will be back again soon. Special thanks to Susan and Dries…..we will always remember the extra mile you went to make our stay absolutely magical. ” –¬†Lovenda Sawage, Kraaifontein, April 2018

Our stay was absolutely amazing, I will definitely be coming back and recommend it to all my family and friends ” – Sharlene Philliipson, Cape Town, April 2018

“Ongelooflike lekker rusplek, goed vir die liggaam en siel” –¬†Dr Tania Victor-O’Flynn, Cape Town, April 2018

“We had a great time close to nature. When our grandchildren did not miss dstv and their PC we knew you got it right.“- Anthony Prince, Cape Town, April 2018

“It was a wonderful stay. The friendliness was amazing and great hospitality. Thank you very much for everything. We will definitely be back for another great stay. ” – Nardo Willemse, George, March 2018

Gorgeous cottage in the most beautiful setting. We loved our stay at Forest Edge and will definitely make a return trip. Thank you” – Tara Schulz, Pretoria , March 2018

“Would not change a thing. Please keep it as is. Wonderful experience! ” – Dewald Vos, Cape Town , March 2018

“We loved our stay. Everything was excellent.¬†The management couple made us feel like friends.¬†Will recommend to friends and family.¬†” – Gwendoline Pedro, Kraaifontein, March 2018

beautifully presented cottage in the natural surroundings – peacefully quiet.” –¬†Richard Parker, Johannesburg, March 2018

Great experience all round! Will be back as soon as we can!” – Stefan du Toit – Cape Town, March 2018

“The first impression was excellent. So close to nature and the feeling of another world takes your mind away entirely which have the effect of a well rested mind when we left.” – Garth Petersen, Durbanville, March 2018

Peace on earth! So ontsaglik rustig en stil!” – Sonja Oosthuizen, Tableview, March 2018

Very relaxing and an awesome getaway from the busy life in the city. We would come back when we come back when we come to this area and recommend it to friends and family. It was an awesome experience.” – Stephanie van Tonder, Benoni, March 2018

Best experience ever… absolutely amazing… can’t wait for our next adventure at Forest Edge :)” – Vida Lochner, Paarl, March 2018

Perfect location for a honeymoon with the sights and sounds of the forest and nature’s beauty and privacy, away from the hustle and bustle of the city.” – Danielle Ernstzen, Cape Town, March 2018

“We found this an amazing place. The atmosphere of this general area was astounding. The grounds and the chalet were perfectly kept and I have never felt so comfortable away from home. Highly recommend this accommodation.” – Charmaine Burke, Cape Town, March 2018

“we came here to rest and we got rest, and so much more, tranquil and serene surrounds, friendly little creatures, from bunnies hopping around, the sweet donkeys who love a cuddle, the bles-hoender at the lily pond deck the fish eagle calling near by. Perfectly situated near the historical sites and forest walks. amazing! ” – Ryan Osborne, Cape St Francis, March 2018

“We so enjoyed our time at Forest Edge. Beautiful setting and so well¬†maintained. Loved the feeling of really being in nature. Can highly recommend a stay here. ” – Heather Meintjes, PE, March 2018

Excellent value and wonderful setting. Will be back again.” – Stephen Cook, Canada, March 2018

We have already told several of our friends. Amazing place. We had a wonderful stay and will be back again.” – Dennis & Pat Brown, Nelson, New Zealand,¬†March 2018

“Baie dankie vir ‘n wonderlike ervaring. Super skoon en netjiese verblyf en vriendelike personeel. HOOGS AAN TE BEVEEL!!! ” – Regina Koekemoer, George, March 2018

The overall experience is great, will definitely return and recommend it to others.” – Egenia Meyer, CT, March 2018

Wonderful stay and very pleasant and helpful staff. Highly recommended!” – Jeremy Hinchley, UK, February 2018

“Baie dankie vir ‘n lieflike wegbreek naweek. Dis pragtig en rustig hier in die natuur skoon en so ‘n bederf. Dankie vir jul gasvryheid en vriendelikheid. Dis verseker ‘n naweek vir die boeke. Baie dankie!! ¬†” – Anine de Kock, Swellendam, February 2018

very lovely guest house resort, looking forward to come back to spend more time here ” – Jan Lohfeldt, Barrydale,¬†February 2018

this is heaven on earth, and the hosts/ managers were extremely great people to be around. Nature in its most perfect state. We enjoyed our stay tremendously ” – Deenishree Pillay, Cape Town, February 2018

Fantastic heaven on earth!!! Staff fantastic, facilities brilliant. Will be back!! ” –¬†Alan Ruffle, UK, February 2018

Dit was alles perfek, baie dankie vir die gasvryheid. Sien julle definitief weer. ” – Chantell Concalves, JHB, February 2018

exceptional, will be back!” –¬†Dr. Ebrahim Patel, Vereeniging, February 2018

baie rustig en verseker die natuurlike stilte wat nodig is vir uitrus. ” – Bernard Maree, George, February 2018

Had a good rest and peaceful experience.” – Julian Muller, George, February 2018

“We had a very pleasant stay. Dries en Susan were very kind and helpful. We were so happy with them and their kindness. We wish everybody were so positive and funny. This was one the most beautiful places we’ve seen and most kind people. Would recommend this place to everybody! Thank you for everything!! ” –Nadia Mahdaoui, Netherlands, February 2018

“Rustig & Lekker! Almal hier is baie gasvry! Uitstekende kos!” –¬†Geert De Decker, George, February 2018

EXCELLENT FACILITY, GREAT VIBES!” – Anita Myburgh, George, February 2018

we really liked the stay and the coziness of Forest Edge” – Holger Emmert, Germany,¬†February 2018

A wonderful location for walking and exploring the Garden Route and great food and wonderful hospitality” –¬†Sally Le Clerc, UK, February 2018

“Our stay at Forest Edge was an absolute highlight of our long trip through South Africa. Wonderful gardens with lily ponds, interesting history, with the great forests of Millwood nearby. Hosts and management were extremely helpful. We loved the “lekker braai” by the owners and felt so spoiled!” –¬†Hans & Soli Dreckmann, Cologne, Germany, February 2018

We had a fantastic week, listening to the choir of frogs from our cottage. The surroundings were beautiful, the staff wonderful and the cottage was comfortable and relaxing. We will definitely be back.” – Richard Hamman, Cape Town, January 2018

Loved our stay on our honeymoon.¬†We loved the privacy and the natural beauty of the surrounds. We could have stayed for longer, but we will be back soon. The Drupkelders hike was beautiful and the water was so refreshing. Thanks for all your hospitality.” – Marc & Camilla Cicatello, Cape Town, January 2018

A wonderful location for walking and exploring the Garden Route and great food and wonderful hospitality” – Sally Le Clerc, UK, January 2018

beautiful and very kind and helpful hosts” – Amanda Burmeister, Plettenberg Bay, January 2018

Fantastic stay, nice and peaceful.” – David Riley, Milnerton, January 2018

I had a fantastic stay at Forest Edge (Fairy Den) Everything was so well organised and efficient. All the home comforts were thought of like blankets, lavender soap and all the kitchen utensils we needed. We met the owner who kindly showed us the vegetable garden which we were allowed to go with him to collect ingredients for our salads. (The spinach was amazing!) Drupkelders was so stunning, worth the hike!” – Shani Vizma, UK, January 2018

“Most pleasant experience having been at Forest Edge as a family. Kids woke the morning on having to leave and asked “please can we stay longer?”” – Sharon Dankers, Cape Town, January 2018

“Thank you for a lovely peaceful stay.¬†We appreciated the delicious vegetables from the garden!” – Coletta Canale, Cape Town, January 2018

Thank you for a wonderful experience. Everything was well organised and the cottages had everything that we could have needed with great attention to detail. Perfect location that I would recommend to anyone. Thank you.” – Sonja Krause, Cape Town, January 2018

“Perfect Stay! Hosts, cottage, nature & hospitality was divine. We wished we stayed longer and will definitely be back soon!” –¬†Denise, Germany, January 2018

“The amazing beauty of this place was a pleasant surprise to us. We had a wonderful stay. Thank you so much for your friendly service. We will recommend Forest Edge to everyone we know back home in Germany.” – Elizabeth¬†Kuhlman, Germany, January 2018

“Wonderful, peaceful stay in beautiful surroundings. Great attention to details and wonderful staff. We will definitely be back.” – Johannes Bester, Somerset West, January 2018

” Loved to stay here!!! It was really quiet and the forest is marvelous. The sounds of nature is soooo great. Having a breakfast on the porch and listening to the animals was one of our favorite things to do.” – Ludwig-Theodor Mosch, Germany,¬†January 2018

“We had an absolutely perfect adventure in the Firefly cottage, the birds, donkeys, rabbit and great atmosphere made the trip worthwhile. We had the best honeymoon anyone could ask for and the service, management and cottages are excellent. We would not change anything we enjoyed every moment. Thank you very much we appreciate the opportunity to experience Knysna at Forest Edge. ” – Tanya Van Schalkwyk, Cape Town,¬†December 2017

The stay lived up to all our expectations and will definitely be recommended to friends, family, colleagues and any other person who is interested in a carefree breakaway.” – Melanie Joubert, Bellville,¬†December 2017

Such an amazing place, the accomodation, the surrounding nature, everything was just wonderful. I cannot recommend Forest Edge enough, and we cannot wait to return one day!” – Chris Kopf, Austria,¬†December 2017

A slice of Paradise, loved staying here and will come back any time. Staff and Management helpful and courteous, everything about the cottage as advertised. ” – Anton Van Zyl, Cape Town,¬†December 2017

“Nice peaceful place. We enjoyed time here and the owner is nice and friendly. We love here very much. ” – Kelly Zhang, Johannesburg,¬†December 2017

An unforgettable escape from the world and excellent food for the soul” – Jonathan Liss, Cape Town,¬†December 2017

It was a wonderful stay, all perfect.” – Nicolai Von Enzberg, Germany,¬†December 2017

Ons het baie lekker gebly. Baie dankie vir wonderlike diens.” – Jacques & Erika Visagie, Bloemfontein, December 2017

“This is an amazing place if you wanna escape from your busy life and just relax while enjoying the soothing sounds of Mother Nature. During our stay here we had close encounters with the cute bunnies and these amazing small frogs – it was absolutely fantastic! There’s nothing better than waking up to the wonderful sound of the Knysna Loerie. Whenever I get the chance I’ll be sure to come again. Thanks for a fabulous stay” – Mia, the 13 year old daughter of Dr Wayne Kretschmer, Belville,¬†December 2017

We had an awesome time here at Forest Edge. Thank you so much to the hosts. We will definitely be back. Thank you so much for a great stay. ” – Mandy Simon, Gauteng,¬†December 2017

everything was excellent” – Olga McIntyre, Gordons Bay,¬†December 2017

“From the very first call making an inquiry, the booking, the arrival and the experience, Forest Edge is exceptionally great. The service and the cottages were more than we anticipated. Very nice and quiet area with own private space and very friendly staff who make guests feel welcome. We are definitely coming back to Forest Edge in future.” – Mulisa Khavhela, Cape Town,¬†December 2017

“We enjoyed our stay very much. The facilities are beautiful and everything we needed and more was available for our use. Susan and Dries are great hosts” – Lauren Coetzee, Port Elizabeth, December 2017

“Baie aangename verblyf. Stilte van die bos is waardeer.” – Amanda Luttig, Brackenfell, December 2017

Absolutely stunning venue, with more than comfortable accommodation and excellent management. We’ll definitely be back!” – Vee Tardrew, Cape Town, December 2017

“We stayed at Forest Edge for our Honeymoon and we had a great experience! It was very relaxing and we loved the scenery.” – Brandon Townsend, Somerset West, December 2017

We LOVED resting our souls in this tranquil environment. Thanks for maintaining our privacy, but still being available when needed. The Drupkelders trail was a blast and you will definitely see us again. ” –¬†Coleen & Theo Marx, Cape Town, December 2017

“Ongelooflike tyd gehad. Dis ‘n onvergeetlike ondervinding in die natuur. Julle sal ons verseker weer sien, ons kannie wag om weer te kom kuier nie! Dit is definitief meer werd as net 3 sterre!! ” – Jaco Horn, Durvanville, December 2017

Very friendly staff and peaceful place.” – Craig Esterhuise, Oranjezicht, December 2017

“We would recommend this beautiful place to anyone! We had an incredible time – the location, facilities, cottage, linen, decor, ambiance and service were all immaculate! We will be returning soon! Thank You for an incredible weekend and for making it extra special by accommodating our children!” – Jeann√© Taljaard, Knysna, November 2017

“It’s a wonderful space to really indulge and take in the beauty of this region, especially considering the magical surrounding hiking trails too. I especially enjoyed the deck, the surroundings and everything. Lovely outdoor shower too!” –¬†Getaway Magazine Team, Gauteng, November 2017

“Everything we needed, great accommodation, friendly and efficient management, peaceful and beautiful environment. FIVE STAR!” – Dr Chris Peppler, Gauteng, November 2017

“Amazing tranquil retreat. Ideal for the start of a honeymoon!” – Peter Martin, Heidelberg, November 2017

“What a pleasure to have been in this place, enjoying every moment in tranquil surroundings! Thanks to the capable staff and very friendly Management who went the extra mile for our comfort.¬†” – Magda du Toit, Pretoria,¬†November 2017

“As a flight attendant I am lucky to see many amazing places around the world, this is one my TOP FAVOURITES. If you are hesitating, stop wandering and BOOK it you won’t regret it ! Very very special place! Beautiful people! Wonderful experience!¬†” – Ladislas Viard, France, November 2017

One of the most wonderful experiences that we have had in South Africa. Management and staff made the experience even more special ¬†” – Roopal Kanabar, Australia,¬†November 2017

“Ons het heerlik gekuier en sal beslis weer terugkom. Baie dankie vir uitstekende diens! ” – Marius Wethmar, Pretoria¬†, November 2017

Wonderful, yet again, feels like coming home. Danie and Amanda are excellent hosts. The food is also great. ” – Ruth & Colin Wilson, Switzerland, November 2017

Great ambiance. Super relaxing. Thanks a lot!! ” – Abraham Schroeder, Germany, November 2017

“We had a fantastic stay at Forest Edge! It was very cosy in froggy cottage, we had a great braai and enjoyed gazing up at the stars at night and over the pond during the day. Well located for walks too. ” – Peter Westaway, London, November 2017

“We had a lovely experience. There is nothing that we would change. So nice, peaceful and quiet away from the hustle¬†and noise. Thank you so much.” – Thomas Van Couter, Belgium, November 2017

“We had a fantastic stay in our Forest Edge Cottage and would recommend it to everyone. People here are so friendly! If you book, please book for dinner and breakfast¬†as well since we ate fantastic here! ” – Jietse Ryckeboer, Belgium, November 2017

“WE ENJOYED OUR STAY VERY MUCH, THE AMBIANCE AND THE FRIENDLINESS OF OUR HOST VERY MUCH AND WILL CERTAINLY RECOMMEND YOUR PLACE TO FRIEND, FAMILY AND ANYONE INTERESTED. ” – Janke Booysen-Hulleman, Pretoria, November 2017

“we had a wonderful time, everything was great, the cabin was beautiful.” – Micheline Flugge, Cape Town, November 2017

“A huge thank you for a wonderful stay. From the moment we made contact on Facebook, to checking in at reception up until our last stay everything was amazing. We were welcomed with open arms & hearts. This special place gave us a weekend of tranquility and relaxation. The fireflies, birds, rabbits & donkeys made it even more special.” –¬†Hayley & Brentley, PE,¬†October 2017

“We are amazed by the natural beauty of nature of course, but also by the chalet and the fact that everything is thought of. Everything you need is here. Absolutely Perfect. What a great spot, we will be back.” – V√©ronique Butel, Gauteng,¬†October 2017

“Baie dankie vir al die voorbereidings van die huisies. Wat ‘n plesier om so in die bos en stilte te kon bly. Ons het gekom vir ons seun se troue. Puik plekkie. Die stilte en bos was asemrowend. Kon my amper verbeel dat ek die Groot Voete kon hoor.¬†” –¬†Elsabe & Pieter Wilke, Bronkhorstspruit, October 2017

Baie dankie vir die lekker kuier. Die huisie was baie mooi” –¬†Adele Smit, Bronkhorstspruit, October 2017

” We really enjoyed our stay at forest edge. The area is really nice and the staff is always friendly and helpful. If we ever come back to South Africa we will make sure to come back. ” – Esther Liebeskind, Germany,¬†October 2017¬†,¬†October 2017

“wonderful stay so lovely to see all that’s been happening here since we last visited thank you for sharing this special place ” – Rob & Beverley Brown, Cape Town,¬†October 2017¬†

“nice, peacefull and quiet! Thank you.” – Cyril Dippenaar, Park Wetton,¬†October 2017¬†

“What a wonderful piece of paradise. We had the most amazing honeymoon experience at Forest Edge, the staff are so friendly, welcoming and kind. We will definately be returning with our families to share this magical retreat. ” – Stefan Ortmann, Cape Town ,¬†October 2017¬†

“What an¬†awesome place to come and relax. Definitely worth the trip. ” – Regan Davids, Parklands,¬†October 2017¬†

“Relaxing, peaceful and very hospitable. Great facilities, great location!” – Jon Baldwin, Chertsey UK,¬†October 2017¬†

Genade Ongelooflik Groot. Wat ‘n heerlike kuier met ‘n netjiese huisie wat bitter hartlik en ontvanklik is. Bestuur het ons met vreugde en liefde ontvang. Die stap in die bos iets besonders. Ons sal verseker weer kom kuier.” –¬†Andre & Ermelita vd Berg, Klerksdorp, October 2017¬†

“The surroundings and the cottage was great. The managers and owners was very friendly. Although we only asked them for dinner at 5pm, they still made a plan for us. We were their first dinner guests on their new deck. We all loved the curry stew they made for us on short notice. Thank you very much for the great service.” – The Ven Spangen Family, Netherlands, October 2017¬†

“Thank you Danie for creating such a wonderful and peaceful environment! We loved every second of our stay here and will certainly be back. We are going to mis this place!” –¬†Francois Kemp, Cape Town, October 2017 (Our first¬†AirBnB guests : ))

“Wonderfully peaceful, beautiful setting, lush gardens, friendly hosts. Thank you!” – Derrick Carson, Jeffreysbaai, October 2017¬†

“A wonderful stay – and you have thought of everything! Thanks so much for a lovely stay!” – Myrna Cook, Cape Town, October 2017¬†

“This house (Froggy Pond) was a little haven for our family. So much to do, we should have stayed longer. What a special place with everything you need… even entertainment. I note the care with which everything is selected.¬†Thank you for being such good stewards with all that surrounds you…. and your guests” –¬†Heather & Mike Scott,¬†Somerset West, October 2017

“Wasn’t sure what to expect, but what a fantastic escape.¬†Absolutely everything our family could possibly need or want from donkeys to jungle gyms to cricket sets and frogs.¬†We were cozy and welcomed and immediately felt at home. Thank you for a wonderful experience.” –¬†Van Wyk Family, Cape Town, October 2017

“I was mesmerized by the beautiful birds, bunnies and fireflies. The atmosphere is very relaxing. Baie dankie vir ‘n ongelooflike wonderlike ervaring. Die kuiertjie hier was die hoogtepunt van ons vakansie!” – Andreas van Wyk, Belville, October 2017

It was an excellent¬†stay ” – Morgan Pillay, Verulam Heights, October 2017

Nie genoeg woorde om ons happiness te beskryf nie!! Ons het 2 jaar terug in die selfde huisie gebly – PRICELESS! Die Forest, Vars lug, Vuurvliegies, Loeries, Stilte! Awesome gasheer en personeel! Kan nie wag vir ons volgende kuiertjie nie!” – Andre & Chantal Geldenhuys, Bloemfontein, September 2017

The most fantastic honeymoon venue!! Danie and his team is excellent with service and warm generosity. Much appreciated.” – Jason & Nicole Stoffels, Groot Drakenstein, September 2017

“I can really not fault anything. It was perfect, adequately stocked, clean and very personal. ” – Jaco Fourie, Windhoek, September 2017

Big thank you for another wonderful stay! We loved our visit here. So peaceful and so relaxing. Will be back again. Take care!” –¬†Marco, Tammy, Gemma & Aimee van Zyl, PE, September 2017

Absolutely immaculate. Cannot fault this stunning retreat. We are locals and will be back very soon. Thank you Danie & Amanda xxx Love the Sharp Family” – Svelka Sharp, Knysna, September 2017

It is still a remarkable place and I am looking forward to coming back once more” – Tandice Gorton, Bellville, September 2017

We had the most amazing time, the Staff are lovely, the area is central and so much activities available to us.” –¬†Shafiqa Esack, Cape Town, September 2017

“Such a beautiful place, we are in awe and had a wonderful time. 10/10, thank you. ¬†” – Annette Barry, Cape Town, September 2017

Lovely, peaceful stay. Thank you so much. ” – Caroline Fitzgerald, Montagu, September 2017

“Baie lekker plekkie en ons sal definitief weer terug kom, baie lekker buitelig ervaring en hou baie van die natuur.” – Johan Malan, Bellville, August 2017

“Thank you for your hospitality. This is heaven on earth. We enjoyed the time here. ” – Marius Van der Berg, Musina, August 2017

EXCELLENT FACILITY, LOVELY COTTAGES.” – Louis van Rensburg, Mosselbaai, August 2017

Great Experience everything is awesome at Forest Edge!” – Juan Van Niekerk, Gordons Bay, August 2017

“Ons het heerlik gekuier. Die ligging is uitstekend naby die bos om in te gaan stap. Die begeleide toer van Meagan Vermaas was uitstekend en hoogs aan te beveel.” –¬†Marianne Van Heerden, Parow, July 2017

“Peaceful magnificent location. Our cottage had all the personal touches to make it that more special! Thank you for all the little details management ensures to make our stay so more special!” – Chris de Jager, Randpark Ridge, July 2017

Absolutely loved our stay and would definitely come back!!” – Peter Foster, Cape Town , July 2017

“A lovely comfortable stay, great evening fires after beautiful forest walks. Thank you!” – Nix Carrie_Wilson, Cape Town, July 2017

Very good service and good hospitality. Very well-equipped. Nice stay. Highly recommended. Will visit again for sure.” – Jan Olivier, Mosselbaai, July 2017

“Great place to stay, easy comfort on the front doorstep of the forest. Awesome place!” – Suzanne Exner, Durbanville, July 2017

THANK YOU FOR VERY NICE STAY” – Johann Jordaan, Paarl, July 2017

“Place is so safe and quite.¬†Thumbs up ” – Brenda Mdlalo, East London, July 2017

Very enjoyable stay, as usual!” – Neil Boonzaier, Cape town , July 2017

Forest Edge is exactly what is advertised on the internet, Peaceful, Tranquil, accommodation splendid. My husband and I were welcomed warmly when we arrived. The Drupkelders hike was awesome, breathtaking. We would really recommend this hike to everyone. My husband and I will certainly be coming to Forest Edge in the near future” – Glynn & Janine Daniels (newly weds), Kuilsrivier, July 2017

Baie dankie vir ‘n heerlike kuier en die bos-ervaring!” – Heloise Visagie, Durbanville, July 2017

Baie goeie akkomodasie – sal vir enige iemand aanbeveel” – Lome De Vries, Durbanville, July 2017

“It was a special experience in nature. Everything is beautiful! The Jubilee Creek Picnic was a definite highlight” – Lianie Du Toit, Kuilsrivier, July 2017

“‘n Rustige wegbreek, veilig en heerlik gemaklik. Julle sien ons weer.” – Jonathan Pearce, Bellville, June 2017

“Lovely cosy, comfortable, and very well-equipped cottages. Perfect for children.” – Michelle Hardy-Berrington, Walmer , June 2017

“Heerlike wegbreek met niks anders as die natuur as jou bure. Sielskos! Sal definetief weer kom!!!! ” – Johan Coetzer, Durbanville , June 2017

“Forest Edge is the perfect place for honeymooners and the best place for relaxation and peace. Top place to sleep in with lots of privacy. Equipped with everything you need and loads to do. We will definitely see you again soon! ” – Cardia Paulse, Cape Town, June 2017

absolute heaven. The stay was serene, relaxing, comfortable, and very homey. Its very child friendly and a lot to keep the little one entertained. – Melissa Jaftha, Cape Town, June 2017

“Although nature was not kind to us during our stay, with the nearby terrible fires and windstorm at the time, we had a most enjoyable stay at Forest Edge. Not only was the accommodation excellent, but the service and treatment by the management and staff were of the highest order. We will most definitely be back in future.” – David George Grewar, ¬†June 2017

We had a lovely, relaxing time with our young children. It is a really beautiful place. The outdoor shower was fantastic!” – Kevin Bethel, Cape Town, June 2017

“Baie dankie vir ‘n ongelooflike plek en gasvryheid. Alles was PERFEK. Sal definitief weer kom.” – Kobus Mouton, Tergniet, May 2017

“Baie lekker gebly, rustige omgewing naby die natuur.” – Pieter Bothma, De Doorns, May 2017

“uiters gate uit geniet, een van die beter plekke” – Gert Tolken, Kleinmond, May 2017

Epitome of romance! The best place for a romantic weekend away!”Lara Zeelie, Port Elizabeth, May 2017

Very well managed and stay was excelent.”Gert Strydom, Jeffreysbaai, May 2017

We had a wonderful honeymoon here at forest edge. We felt very special and spoiled. The mtb trails are awesome and very close. We will be back next year ūüôāCarrie-lee v Rensburg, Cape Town, May 2017

Very tranquil and intimate setting. All very tidy. Everything provided for. Highly recommended. Will return!”Ilna Roux, Port Elizabeth, May 2017

Lovley experience. Cottage was very clean and staff very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the peacefulness. Will definately come back!”Jorika Brink, Knysna, May 2017

Beautiful well maintained accommodation. A very peaceful relaxing stay on the edge of the forest with lots of silence and birdsong. Will definitely recommend to family and friend.”Stuart Knight, Cape Town, May 2017

Beautiful and very peaceful. Can definitely recommend it to others.” – Guillaume Martins, Florida Glen , May 2017

Forest edge is a little gem of a spot with an amazing selection of things to do & very comfortable cabins.” – Rebecca Kooiker, Johannesburg, May 2017

Thank you for an incredible time, it is soo beautiful here. We enjoyed our week very much and will definitely return many times more. Thank you for making our honeymoon SO special.” – The Ball’s, Durbanville,¬†May 2017

Excellent stay, enjoyed every minute. Loved the attention to detail and every need is catered for. ” – Elisabet Nel, Cape Town,¬†May 2017

it was wonderfully quiet and so unbelievably beautiful. Thank you for the great¬†hospitality.” – Astrid Koch, Cape Town, May 2017

You can experience a little heaven on earth. Enjoy simplicity with luxury.” – Elizabeth Heldsinger, Kosmosdal ,¬†May 2017

Our time at Forest Edge was amazing. It was peaceful and tranquil just how we would have wanted it to be.” – Hanre Marais, Bellville,¬†May 2017

Wonderful spot to relax. Heavenly” – Steve Connolly, Cape Town ,¬†May 2017

Knysna Loerie / Lourie / Knysna Touraco
Photo: Christopher van Zyl, Jun 2012, "where magic happens"
Forest Edge guest reviews, Guest feedback,
Photo by Catherine Jansen v Rensburg (April 2010), she says: "'n stukkie hemel op aarde!"
Anna Gauche (age 83) resting on the rocks after doing the Drupkelders trail down to the gorge
The "blessed" woodcutter graves at Forest Edge - by the delightful honeymooners, Zack & Celeste de Beer (Sept 2010)
Woodcutters Graves, Forest Edge,
The "blessed" woodcutter graves at Forest Edge - by the delightful honeymooners, Zack & Celeste de Beer (Sept 2010)
artletitia
<script src="https://apis.google.com/js/platform.js?onload=renderOptIn" async defer></script></p>
<p><script>
  window.renderOptIn = function() {
    window.gapi.load('surveyoptin', function() {
      window.gapi.surveyoptin.render(
        {
          // REQUIRED FIELDS
          "merchant_id": 123420355,
          "order_id": "ORDER_ID",
          "email": "CUSTOMER_EMAIL",
          "delivery_country": "COUNTRY_CODE",
          "estimated_delivery_date": "YYYY-MM-DD",</p>
<p>          // OPTIONAL FIELDS
          "products": [{"gtin":"GTIN1"}, {"gtin":"GTIN2"}]
        });
    });
  }
</script>