Forest Edge Guest Reviews - Self-catering accommodation Knysna, Garden Route
Fiendly staff, Knysna self catering accommodation, award winning nature retreat, staff reviews and development
Garden Route Self Catering Accommodation

Forest Edge Guest Reviews

what guests say about Forest Edge (latest first)

*** Here follows most recent feedback (past two years or so) Sourced from written guestbook¬† and/or official electronic feedback forms. You can also see the older guest feedback HERE. We also occasionally receive less glowing letters…luckily they refer back to 2010 ūüôā

*** NOTE: if you have seen this page before, refresh (CNTRL-F5) to see new additions ūüôā

Wonderful stay and very pleasant and helpful staff. Highly recommended!” – Jeremy Hinchley, UK, February 2018

“Baie dankie vir ‘n lieflike wegbreek naweek. Dis pragtig en rustig hier in die natuur skoon en so ‘n bederf. Dankie vir jul gasvryheid en vriendelikheid. Dis verseker ‘n naweek vir die boeke. Baie dankie!! ¬†” – Anine de Kock, Swellendam, February 2018

very lovely guest house resort, looking forward to come back to spend more time here ” – Jan Lohfeldt, Barrydale,¬†February 2018

this is heaven on earth, and the hosts/ managers were extremely great people to be around. Nature in its most perfect state. We enjoyed our stay tremendously ” – Deenishree Pillay, Cape Town, February 2018

Fantastic heaven on earth!!! Staff fantastic, facilities brilliant. Will be back!! ” –¬†Alan Ruffle, UK, February 2018

Dit was alles perfek, baie dankie vir die gasvryheid. Sien julle definitief weer. ” – Chantell Concalves, JHB, February 2018

exceptional, will be back!” –¬†Dr. Ebrahim Patel, Vereeniging, February 2018

baie rustig en verseker die natuurlike stilte wat nodig is vir uitrus. ” – Bernard Maree, George, February 2018

Had a good rest and peaceful experience.” – Julian Muller, George, February 2018

“We had a very pleasant stay. Dries en Susan were very kind and helpful. We were so happy with them and their kindness. We wish everybody were so positive and funny. This was one the most beautiful places we’ve seen and most kind people. Would recommend this place to everybody! Thank you for everything!! ” –Nadia Mahdaoui, Netherlands, February 2018

“Rustig & Lekker! Almal hier is baie gasvry! Uitstekende kos!” –¬†Geert De Decker, George, February 2018

EXCELLENT FACILITY, GREAT VIBES!” – Anita Myburgh, George, February 2018

we really liked the stay and the coziness of Forest Edge” – Holger Emmert, Germany,¬†February 2018

A wonderful location for walking and exploring the Garden Route and great food and wonderful hospitality” –¬†Sally Le Clerc, UK, February 2018

“Our stay at Forest Edge was an absolute highlight of our long trip through South Africa. Wonderful gardens with lily ponds, interesting history, with the great forests of Millwood nearby. Hosts and management were extremely helpful. We loved the “lekker braai” by the owners and felt so spoiled!” –¬†Hans & Soli Dreckmann, Cologne, Germany, February 2018

We had a fantastic week, listening to the choir of frogs from our cottage. The surroundings were beautiful, the staff wonderful and the cottage was comfortable and relaxing. We will definitely be back.” – Richard Hamman, Cape Town, January 2018

Loved our stay on our honeymoon.¬†We loved the privacy and the natural beauty of the surrounds. We could have stayed for longer, but we will be back soon. The Drupkelders hike was beautiful and the water was so refreshing. Thanks for all your hospitality.” – Marc & Camilla Cicatello, Cape Town, January 2018

A wonderful location for walking and exploring the Garden Route and great food and wonderful hospitality” – Sally Le Clerc, UK, January 2018

beautiful and very kind and helpful hosts” – Amanda Burmeister, Plettenberg Bay, January 2018

Fantastic stay, nice and peaceful.” – David Riley, Milnerton, January 2018

I had a fantastic stay at Forest Edge (Fairy Den) Everything was so well organised and efficient. All the home comforts were thought of like blankets, lavender soap and all the kitchen utensils we needed. We met the owner who kindly showed us the vegetable garden which we were allowed to go with him to collect ingredients for our salads. (The spinach was amazing!) Drupkelders was so stunning, worth the hike!” – Shani Vizma, UK, January 2018

“Most pleasant experience having been at Forest Edge as a family. Kids woke the morning on having to leave and asked “please can we stay longer?”” – Sharon Dankers, Cape Town, January 2018

“Thank you for a lovely peaceful stay.¬†We appreciated the delicious vegetables from the garden!” – Coletta Canale, Cape Town, January 2018

Thank you for a wonderful experience. Everything was well organised and the cottages had everything that we could have needed with great attention to detail. Perfect location that I would recommend to anyone. Thank you.” – Sonja Krause, Cape Town, January 2018

“Perfect Stay! Hosts, cottage, nature & hospitality was divine. We wished we stayed longer and will definitely be back soon!” –¬†Denise, Germany, January 2018

“The amazing beauty of this place was a pleasant surprise to us. We had a wonderful stay. Thank you so much for your friendly service. We will recommend Forest Edge to everyone we know back home in Germany.” – Elizabeth¬†Kuhlman, Germany, January 2018

“Wonderful, peaceful stay in beautiful surroundings. Great attention to details and wonderful staff. We will definitely be back.” – Johannes Bester, Somerset West, January 2018

” Loved to stay here!!! It was really quiet and the forest is marvelous. The sounds of nature is soooo great. Having a breakfast on the porch and listening to the animals was one of our favorite things to do.” – Ludwig-Theodor Mosch, Germany,¬†January 2018

“We had an absolutely perfect adventure in the Firefly cottage, the birds, donkeys, rabbit and great atmosphere made the trip worthwhile. We had the best honeymoon anyone could ask for and the service, management and cottages are excellent. We would not change anything we enjoyed every moment. Thank you very much we appreciate the opportunity to experience Knysna at Forest Edge. ” – Tanya Van Schalkwyk, Cape Town,¬†December 2017

The stay lived up to all our expectations and will definitely be recommended to friends, family, colleagues and any other person who is interested in a carefree breakaway.” – Melanie Joubert, Bellville,¬†December 2017

Such an amazing place, the accomodation, the surrounding nature, everything was just wonderful. I cannot recommend Forest Edge enough, and we cannot wait to return one day!” – Chris Kopf, Austria,¬†December 2017

A slice of Paradise, loved staying here and will come back any time. Staff and Management helpful and courteous, everything about the cottage as advertised. ” – Anton Van Zyl, Cape Town,¬†December 2017

“Nice peaceful place. We enjoyed time here and the owner is nice and friendly. We love here very much. ” – Kelly Zhang, Johannesburg,¬†December 2017

An unforgettable escape from the world and excellent food for the soul” – Jonathan Liss, Cape Town,¬†December 2017

It was a wonderful stay, all perfect.” – Nicolai Von Enzberg, Germany,¬†December 2017

Ons het baie lekker gebly. Baie dankie vir wonderlike diens.” – Jacques & Erika Visagie, Bloemfontein, December 2017

“This is an amazing place if you wanna escape from your busy life and just relax while enjoying the soothing sounds of Mother Nature. During our stay here we had close encounters with the cute bunnies and these amazing small frogs – it was absolutely fantastic! There’s nothing better than waking up to the wonderful sound of the Knysna Loerie. Whenever I get the chance I’ll be sure to come again. Thanks for a fabulous stay” – Mia, the 13 year old daughter of Dr Wayne Kretschmer, Belville,¬†December 2017

We had an awesome time here at Forest Edge. Thank you so much to the hosts. We will definitely be back. Thank you so much for a great stay. ” – Mandy Simon, Gauteng,¬†December 2017

everything was excellent” – Olga McIntyre, Gordons Bay,¬†December 2017

“From the very first call making an inquiry, the booking, the arrival and the experience, Forest Edge is exceptionally great. The service and the cottages were more than we anticipated. Very nice and quiet area with own private space and very friendly staff who make guests feel welcome. We are definitely coming back to Forest Edge in future.” – Mulisa Khavhela, Cape Town,¬†December 2017

“We enjoyed our stay very much. The facilities are beautiful and everything we needed and more was available for our use. Susan and Dries are great hosts” – Lauren Coetzee, Port Elizabeth, December 2017

“Baie aangename verblyf. Stilte van die bos is waardeer.” – Amanda Luttig, Brackenfell, December 2017

Absolutely stunning venue, with more than comfortable accommodation and excellent management. We’ll definitely be back!” – Vee Tardrew, Cape Town, December 2017

“We stayed at Forest Edge for our Honeymoon and we had a great experience! It was very relaxing and we loved the scenery.” – Brandon Townsend, Somerset West, December 2017

We LOVED resting our souls in this tranquil environment. Thanks for maintaining our privacy, but still being available when needed. The Drupkelders trail was a blast and you will definitely see us again. ” –¬†Coleen & Theo Marx, Cape Town, December 2017

“Ongelooflike tyd gehad. Dis ‘n onvergeetlike ondervinding in die natuur. Julle sal ons verseker weer sien, ons kannie wag om weer te kom kuier nie! Dit is definitief meer werd as net 3 sterre!! ” – Jaco Horn, Durvanville, December 2017

Very friendly staff and peaceful place.” – Craig Esterhuise, Oranjezicht, December 2017

“We would recommend this beautiful place to anyone! We had an incredible time – the location, facilities, cottage, linen, decor, ambiance and service were all immaculate! We will be returning soon! Thank You for an incredible weekend and for making it extra special by accommodating our children!” – Jeann√© Taljaard, Knysna, November 2017

“It’s a wonderful space to really indulge and take in the beauty of this region, especially considering the magical surrounding hiking trails too. I especially enjoyed the deck, the surroundings and everything. Lovely outdoor shower too!” –¬†Getaway Magazine Team, Gauteng, November 2017

“Everything we needed, great accommodation, friendly and efficient management, peaceful and beautiful environment. FIVE STAR!” – Dr Chris Peppler, Gauteng, November 2017

“Amazing tranquil retreat. Ideal for the start of a honeymoon!” – Peter Martin, Heidelberg, November 2017

“What a pleasure to have been in this place, enjoying every moment in tranquil surroundings! Thanks to the capable staff and very friendly Management who went the extra mile for our comfort.¬†” – Magda du Toit, Pretoria,¬†November 2017

“As a flight attendant I am lucky to see many amazing places around the world, this is one my TOP FAVOURITES. If you are hesitating, stop wandering and BOOK it you won’t regret it ! Very very special place! Beautiful people! Wonderful experience!¬†” – Ladislas Viard, France, November 2017

One of the most wonderful experiences that we have had in South Africa. Management and staff made the experience even more special ¬†” – Roopal Kanabar, Australia,¬†November 2017

“Ons het heerlik gekuier en sal beslis weer terugkom. Baie dankie vir uitstekende diens! ” – Marius Wethmar, Pretoria¬†, November 2017

Wonderful, yet again, feels like coming home. Danie and Amanda are excellent hosts. The food is also great. ” – Ruth & Colin Wilson, Switzerland, November 2017

Great ambiance. Super relaxing. Thanks a lot!! ” – Abraham Schroeder, Germany, November 2017

“We had a fantastic stay at Forest Edge! It was very cosy in froggy cottage, we had a great braai and enjoyed gazing up at the stars at night and over the pond during the day. Well located for walks too. ” – Peter Westaway, London, November 2017

“We had a lovely experience. There is nothing that we would change. So nice, peaceful and quiet away from the hustle¬†and noise. Thank you so much.” – Thomas Van Couter, Belgium, November 2017

“We had a fantastic stay in our Forest Edge Cottage and would recommend it to everyone. People here are so friendly! If you book, please book for dinner and breakfast¬†as well since we ate fantastic here! ” – Jietse Ryckeboer, Belgium, November 2017

“WE ENJOYED OUR STAY VERY MUCH, THE AMBIANCE AND THE FRIENDLINESS OF OUR HOST VERY MUCH AND WILL CERTAINLY RECOMMEND YOUR PLACE TO FRIEND, FAMILY AND ANYONE INTERESTED. ” – Janke Booysen-Hulleman, Pretoria, November 2017

“we had a wonderful time, everything was great, the cabin was beautiful.” – Micheline Flugge, Cape Town, November 2017

“A huge thank you for a wonderful stay. From the moment we made contact on Facebook, to checking in at reception up until our last stay everything was amazing. We were welcomed with open arms & hearts. This special place gave us a weekend of tranquility and relaxation. The fireflies, birds, rabbits & donkeys made it even more special.” –¬†Hayley & Brentley, PE,¬†October 2017

“We are amazed by the natural beauty of nature of course, but also by the chalet and the fact that everything is thought of. Everything you need is here. Absolutely Perfect. What a great spot, we will be back.” – V√©ronique Butel, Gauteng,¬†October 2017

“Baie dankie vir al die voorbereidings van die huisies. Wat ‘n plesier om so in die bos en stilte te kon bly. Ons het gekom vir ons seun se troue. Puik plekkie. Die stilte en bos was asemrowend. Kon my amper verbeel dat ek die Groot Voete kon hoor.¬†” –¬†Elsabe & Pieter Wilke, Bronkhorstspruit, October 2017

Baie dankie vir die lekker kuier. Die huisie was baie mooi” –¬†Adele Smit, Bronkhorstspruit, October 2017

” We really enjoyed our stay at forest edge. The area is really nice and the staff is always friendly and helpful. If we ever come back to South Africa we will make sure to come back. ” – Esther Liebeskind, Germany,¬†October 2017¬†,¬†October 2017

“wonderful stay so lovely to see all that’s been happening here since we last visited thank you for sharing this special place ” – Rob & Beverley Brown, Cape Town,¬†October 2017¬†

“nice, peacefull and quiet! Thank you.” – Cyril Dippenaar, Park Wetton,¬†October 2017¬†

“What a wonderful piece of paradise. We had the most amazing honeymoon experience at Forest Edge, the staff are so friendly, welcoming and kind. We will definately be returning with our families to share this magical retreat. ” – Stefan Ortmann, Cape Town ,¬†October 2017¬†

“What an¬†awesome place to come and relax. Definitely worth the trip. ” – Regan Davids, Parklands,¬†October 2017¬†

“Relaxing, peaceful and very hospitable. Great facilities, great location!” – Jon Baldwin, Chertsey UK,¬†October 2017¬†

Genade Ongelooflik Groot. Wat ‘n heerlike kuier met ‘n netjiese huisie wat bitter hartlik en ontvanklik is. Bestuur het ons met vreugde en liefde ontvang. Die stap in die bos iets besonders. Ons sal verseker weer kom kuier.” –¬†Andre & Ermelita vd Berg, Klerksdorp, October 2017¬†

“The surroundings and the cottage was great. The managers and owners was very friendly. Although we only asked them for dinner at 5pm, they still made a plan for us. We were their first dinner guests on their new deck. We all loved the curry stew they made for us on short notice. Thank you very much for the great service.” – The Ven Spangen Family, Netherlands, October 2017¬†

“Thank you Danie for creating such a wonderful and peaceful environment! We loved every second of our stay here and will certainly be back. We are going to mis this place!” –¬†Francois Kemp, Cape Town, October 2017 (Our first¬†AirBnB guests : ))

“Wonderfully peaceful, beautiful setting, lush gardens, friendly hosts. Thank you!” – Derrick Carson, Jeffreysbaai, October 2017¬†

“A wonderful stay – and you have thought of everything! Thanks so much for a lovely stay!” – Myrna Cook, Cape Town, October 2017¬†

“This house (Froggy Pond) was a little haven for our family. So much to do, we should have stayed longer. What a special place with everything you need… even entertainment. I note the care with which everything is selected.¬†Thank you for being such good stewards with all that surrounds you…. and your guests” –¬†Heather & Mike Scott,¬†Somerset West, October 2017

“Wasn’t sure what to expect, but what a fantastic escape.¬†Absolutely everything our family could possibly need or want from donkeys to jungle gyms to cricket sets and frogs.¬†We were cozy and welcomed and immediately felt at home. Thank you for a wonderful experience.” –¬†Van Wyk Family, Cape Town, October 2017

“I was mesmerized by the beautiful birds, bunnies and fireflies. The atmosphere is very relaxing. Baie dankie vir ‘n ongelooflike wonderlike ervaring. Die kuiertjie hier was die hoogtepunt van ons vakansie!” – Andreas van Wyk, Belville, October 2017

It was an excellent¬†stay ” – Morgan Pillay, Verulam Heights, October 2017

Nie genoeg woorde om ons happiness te beskryf nie!! Ons het 2 jaar terug in die selfde huisie gebly – PRICELESS! Die Forest, Vars lug, Vuurvliegies, Loeries, Stilte! Awesome gasheer en personeel! Kan nie wag vir ons volgende kuiertjie nie!” – Andre & Chantal Geldenhuys, Bloemfontein, September 2017

The most fantastic honeymoon venue!! Danie and his team is excellent with service and warm generosity. Much appreciated.” – Jason & Nicole Stoffels, Groot Drakenstein, September 2017

“I can really not fault anything. It was perfect, adequately stocked, clean and very personal. ” – Jaco Fourie, Windhoek, September 2017

Big thank you for another wonderful stay! We loved our visit here. So peaceful and so relaxing. Will be back again. Take care!” –¬†Marco, Tammy, Gemma & Aimee van Zyl, PE, September 2017

Absolutely immaculate. Cannot fault this stunning retreat. We are locals and will be back very soon. Thank you Danie & Amanda xxx Love the Sharp Family” – Svelka Sharp, Knysna, September 2017

It is still a remarkable place and I am looking forward to coming back once more” – Tandice Gorton, Bellville, September 2017

We had the most amazing time, the Staff are lovely, the area is central and so much activities available to us.” –¬†Shafiqa Esack, Cape Town, September 2017

“Such a beautiful place, we are in awe and had a wonderful time. 10/10, thank you. ¬†” – Annette Barry, Cape Town, September 2017

Lovely, peaceful stay. Thank you so much. ” – Caroline Fitzgerald, Montagu, September 2017

“Baie lekker plekkie en ons sal definitief weer terug kom, baie lekker buitelig ervaring en hou baie van die natuur.” – Johan Malan, Bellville, August 2017

“Thank you for your hospitality. This is heaven on earth. We enjoyed the time here. ” – Marius Van der Berg, Musina, August 2017

EXCELLENT FACILITY, LOVELY COTTAGES.” – Louis van Rensburg, Mosselbaai, August 2017

Great Experience everything is awesome at Forest Edge!” – Juan Van Niekerk, Gordons Bay, August 2017

“Ons het heerlik gekuier. Die ligging is uitstekend naby die bos om in te gaan stap. Die begeleide toer van Meagan Vermaas was uitstekend en hoogs aan te beveel.” –¬†Marianne Van Heerden, Parow, July 2017

“Peaceful magnificent location. Our cottage had all the personal touches to make it that more special! Thank you for all the little details management ensures to make our stay so more special!” – Chris de Jager, Randpark Ridge, July 2017

Absolutely loved our stay and would definitely come back!!” – Peter Foster, Cape Town , July 2017

“A lovely comfortable stay, great evening fires after beautiful forest walks. Thank you!” – Nix Carrie_Wilson, Cape Town, July 2017

Very good service and good hospitality. Very well-equipped. Nice stay. Highly recommended. Will visit again for sure.” – Jan Olivier, Mosselbaai, July 2017

“Great place to stay, easy comfort on the front doorstep of the forest. Awesome place!” – Suzanne Exner, Durbanville, July 2017

THANK YOU FOR VERY NICE STAY” – Johann Jordaan, Paarl, July 2017

“Place is so safe and quite.¬†Thumbs up ” – Brenda Mdlalo, East London, July 2017

Very enjoyable stay, as usual!” – Neil Boonzaier, Cape town , July 2017

Forest Edge is exactly what is advertised on the internet, Peaceful, Tranquil, accommodation splendid. My husband and I were welcomed warmly when we arrived. The Drupkelders hike was awesome, breathtaking. We would really recommend this hike to everyone. My husband and I will certainly be coming to Forest Edge in the near future” – Glynn & Janine Daniels (newly weds), Kuilsrivier, July 2017

Baie dankie vir ‘n heerlike kuier en die bos-ervaring!” – Heloise Visagie, Durbanville, July 2017

Baie goeie akkomodasie – sal vir enige iemand aanbeveel” – Lome De Vries, Durbanville, July 2017

“It was a special experience in nature. Everything is beautiful! The Jubilee Creek Picnic was a definite highlight” – Lianie Du Toit, Kuilsrivier, July 2017

“‘n Rustige wegbreek, veilig en heerlik gemaklik. Julle sien ons weer.” – Jonathan Pearce, Bellville, June 2017

“Lovely cosy, comfortable, and very well-equipped cottages. Perfect for children.” – Michelle Hardy-Berrington, Walmer , June 2017

“Heerlike wegbreek met niks anders as die natuur as jou bure. Sielskos! Sal definetief weer kom!!!! ” – Johan Coetzer, Durbanville , June 2017

“Forest Edge is the perfect place for honeymooners and the best place for relaxation and peace. Top place to sleep in with lots of privacy. Equipped with everything you need and loads to do. We will definitely see you again soon! ” – Cardia Paulse, Cape Town, June 2017

absolute heaven. The stay was serene, relaxing, comfortable, and very homey. Its very child friendly and a lot to keep the little one entertained. – Melissa Jaftha, Cape Town, June 2017

“Although nature was not kind to us during our stay, with the nearby terrible fires and windstorm at the time, we had a most enjoyable stay at Forest Edge. Not only was the accommodation excellent, but the service and treatment by the management and staff were of the highest order. We will most definitely be back in future.” – David George Grewar, ¬†June 2017

We had a lovely, relaxing time with our young children. It is a really beautiful place. The outdoor shower was fantastic!” – Kevin Bethel, Cape Town, June 2017

“Baie dankie vir ‘n ongelooflike plek en gasvryheid. Alles was PERFEK. Sal definitief weer kom.” – Kobus Mouton, Tergniet, May 2017

“Baie lekker gebly, rustige omgewing naby die natuur.” – Pieter Bothma, De Doorns, May 2017

“uiters gate uit geniet, een van die beter plekke” – Gert Tolken, Kleinmond, May 2017

Epitome of romance! The best place for a romantic weekend away!”Lara Zeelie, Port Elizabeth, May 2017

Very well managed and stay was excelent.”Gert Strydom, Jeffreysbaai, May 2017

We had a wonderful honeymoon here at forest edge. We felt very special and spoiled. The mtb trails are awesome and very close. We will be back next year ūüôāCarrie-lee v Rensburg, Cape Town, May 2017

Very tranquil and intimate setting. All very tidy. Everything provided for. Highly recommended. Will return!”Ilna Roux, Port Elizabeth, May 2017

Lovley experience. Cottage was very clean and staff very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the peacefulness. Will definately come back!”Jorika Brink, Knysna, May 2017

Beautiful well maintained accommodation. A very peaceful relaxing stay on the edge of the forest with lots of silence and birdsong. Will definitely recommend to family and friend.”Stuart Knight, Cape Town, May 2017

Beautiful and very peaceful. Can definitely recommend it to others.” – Guillaume Martins, Florida Glen , May 2017

Forest edge is a little gem of a spot with an amazing selection of things to do & very comfortable cabins.” – Rebecca Kooiker, Johannesburg, May 2017

Thank you for an incredible time, it is soo beautiful here. We enjoyed our week very much and will definitely return many times more. Thank you for making our honeymoon SO special.” – The Ball’s, Durbanville,¬†May 2017

Excellent stay, enjoyed every minute. Loved the attention to detail and every need is catered for. ” – Elisabet Nel, Cape Town,¬†May 2017

it was wonderfully quiet and so unbelievably beautiful. Thank you for the great¬†hospitality.” – Astrid Koch, Cape Town, May 2017

You can experience a little heaven on earth. Enjoy simplicity with luxury.” – Elizabeth Heldsinger, Kosmosdal ,¬†May 2017

Our time at Forest Edge was amazing. It was peaceful and tranquil just how we would have wanted it to be.” – Hanre Marais, Bellville,¬†May 2017

Wonderful spot to relax. Heavenly” – Steve Connolly, Cape Town ,¬†May 2017

Thank you for the wonderful stay and most nicest welcome. We really enjoyed our time out away from the busy lives we have in PE. We will be back with our daughter.” – Brent & Bev Starr, PE,¬†April 2017

An absolutely lovely place to be. The best place I have been in a long time. The next time we come, we will book out all 5 units and bring the extended family with. Well done Forest Edge!” – Michelle Kleinhans, Port Elizabeth,¬†April 2017

WE HAD A VERY RESTFUL TIME, BEAUTIFUL SETTING.” – Marius Pretorius, Bloemfontein,¬†April 2017

we had a great stay. Would love to come back and bring our son.” – Hayley Davison, Hermanus,¬†April 2017

wonderful to experience the Knysna forest first hand. Forest Edge is a great place to relax and have all the amenities” – Adri Langenhoven, Pretoria,¬†April 2017

I loved the fact that Forest Edge is a green lodge, eco-friendly, sustainable to planet earth, biodegradable, self-sustaining, and in the Knysna forest. If you are a green person this is for you.” – Beatrice Mazwi, Lanseria,¬† April 2017

Thanks for a lovely stay! We will recommend Forest Edge to every one! We will definitely see you soon.” – Marnus & Jean-Marie, Newlyweds from Cape Town,¬† April 2017

Wish it was closer to Pretoria!Hannes Enslin, Pretoria,  April 2017

“Thank you for a lovely stay. Beautiful and peaceful. Neat, clean, well kept cottage. Super Staff and Management. Wish our stay was longer.” – Rigo Govoni, Port Elizabeth, April 2017

Baie lekker gekuier by baie spesiale mense in ‘n baie spesiale plek. Die bosstap was baie besonder en die kuier om die braaivleis vuur een groot plesier.” – Ina Bisschoff, Camps Bay, April 2017

“Serene and beautiful surroundings, allowing our daughter to imagine the fairies and enchanted life of Forest Edge. Splash pool, Hanzel & Gretel & the play car a superb hit. Everything exceeded our expectations.” – Grant, Lieke & Breena-Shae, Blouberg, April 2017

“Thanks for a magical stay, warm hospitality, very well stocked cottages and magnificent walks. An amazing retreat for the soul.” – Catherine Murison, Cape Town, April 2017

“This was our first visit at Forest Edge as a couple and it was a magical experience. As it was our honeymoon, it was extra special and we will definitely be returning again for our anniversary in the future. Everything was in tip top condition and taking a shower outside the cottage was sublime. Thank you very much Dries and Susan!” – Leon van der Linde, Bloemfontein, April 2017

“had a great time,every need was met. Remember to ask for the bon fire. Leaving with a big Smile.” – Camino Tours, Netherlands, April 2017

baie dankie weereens vir n wonderlike verblyf en die gasvryheid ons sal definitief weer terug wees in die peace of heaven!
Ns dankie vir die pakkie easter eggs aan die deur dit was baie spesiaal!” – Wanita Smit, Swellendam, April 2017

Our stay at Forest Edge was awesome. The cottage was very clean, the surroundings are lovely and peaceful. We would love to have done more walks and spent more time at Forest Edge. We will definitely be coming back..” – Cecile Nowers, Port Elizabeth, April 2017

“Die woonstelle is so oulik toegerus met alles wat nodig mag wees. Goed waaraan n mens nie eers dink nie, is daar. Dit was n heerlike week en ons het dit ongelooflik baie geniet. Ons sal beslis weer kom en langer bly, want hier is so baie om te doen ūüôā” – Renaldo Von Waltzleben, Durbanville, April 2017

Second time here, and will definitely be back again!!! Great staff, great place, great getaway!!” – Zako Kruger, Port Elizabeth, April 2017

Absolutely wonderfull. The nearby walks in the Knysna forest is breathtaking” – Yolande Labuschagne, Pretoria, April 2017

“Forest Edge is an amazing place which will remain special to us! It is the most magnificent place for all nature lovers, especially those who love walking! Fairy Den has made our honeymoon that much more special. Excellent!” – Hennie Brand, Bellville, April 2017

“We enjoyed every minute of our 2-day stay at Forest Edge! (especially the outdoor shower) You are running this place in such a careful way – thank you!” – Benno Bakker, Netherlands, April 2017

“We found Forest Edge to be very serene and relaxing, with excellent access to the stunning Knysna Forest and within easy striking distance of other attractions in Knysna. We would highly recommend it.” – Liz Nicholas, MT Hawthorn, April 2017

“‘n Waarlike rusplek. So rustig. Sal dit oral aanbeveel.” – Drieka Boucher, Uitenhage, April 2017

“Absolute awesome and peaceful experience. Loved every moment of our stay. So much scenery and places to see in the area. Loved the nature and peaceful surroundings.” – Welda Helberg, Moregloed, March 2017

Excellent experience. Had a wonderful time!” – Marc Wilson, Germany, March 2017

What a beautiful little house! Thanks so much for this great stay. We’re really looking forward to our return here. Greetings from Germany” – Max & Christin, Germany, March 2017

“Wonderful, peaceful and beautiful place. What more can I say, just perfect! ” – Werner Otto, Marstetten, March 2017

Wonderful place. Beautiful scenery and place” – Tobie Crause, Cullinan, March 2017

Excellent!!!” – Greg Job, Vredenburg, March 2017

“Peaceful and serene setting, something for everyone in the family to enjoy. Great memories to take home with us.” – Philippa Boshoff, Welgemoed, March 2017

This is a really magical and peaceful place, a place to feed your soul and get away from the crazy hustle and bustle of the city. The cottages are super cozy and everything is catered for. We will definitely be back and recommend to anyone. Unfortunately, 2 nights were too short!” – Christo Greyling, Namibia, March 2017

“We spent two lovely nights at Forest Edge on our honeymoon and it was definitely a great choice! Highly recommended for a quiet, relaxing time. ” – Jacques Malan, Riversdal, March 2017

“Perfect getaway place that is very beautiful and well maintaned. Highly recommened to anyone looking for a forest getaway! ” – Keith Hamilton, Cape Town, March 2017

“Very comfortable accomodation in a lovely setting, enjoyed the Meditation centre and the local walks. An excellent break!¬† ” – C Harvey, United Kingdom, March 2017

“Thank you to the owners and staff, there is no better place to be when in Knysna. My experience has been phenominal every time I visit Forest Edge. I highly recommend for any one to visit them. It is a life changing experience. Again thank you Forest Edge! ” – Charl Roestroff, Randfontein, March 2017

This is a little slice of heaven! Could not have dreamed of a more perfect setting! The managers attention to detail is wonderful, did not miss one thing! Thank you! Can’t wait to visit again! ” – Lara Zeelie, Port Elizabeth, March 2017

“Very clean and neat. Cottage has everything you can think of from mosquito burner to soap in the shower. Loved staying at Fieldmouse, wish we could stay longer! ” – Melanie Wessels, Johannesburg, March 2017

“One of the most beautiful places on earth. Cottages immaculate. Scenery stunning. The whole experience was good for our souls. Thank you so much. We will definitely visit again.” – Jacqui Holmes, Port Elizabeth , March 2017

Happy memories of a blissfull stay” – Beth Pedersen, USA, March 2017

“Baie dankie vir die rustige en ontspannende paar daggies. Dit was heerlik! ” – Sandra McCabe, Graaff Reinet, March 2017

“Absolutely stunning – a wonderful retreat from the city” – Barry Hitchens, Sydney Australia, March 2017

“Serene, beautiful and well equiped. I fell in love with Forest Edge and highly recommend it. ” – Nadia De Villiers, Cape Town , February 2017

Forest Edge is an absolute gem. Beautiful setting, professionally managed, and magnificently restful. There is no doubt, we will be back. Thanks for a wonderful experience. ” – Greg King, Johannesburg, February 2017

“The best way to spend our honeymoon! Very clean and lots of attention to detail to make sure its a memorable and fun experience. Beautiful area! We’re definitely coming back!” – Shaun Coetsee, Plattekloof, February 2017

Very well organised establishment. Really enjoyed our stay. Would be hard to stay somewhere closer to nature. ” – Hein Gerber, Paarl , February 2017

Will definitely visit again. Thank you ” – Vanessa Jacobs, Western Cape, February 2017

Had a fantastic time!  РPierre Pistorius, Port Elizabeth , February 2017

“Baie dankie vir die vriendelikheid en die stilte van die natuur. Ons het die donkies baie geniet en hulle lekker gevoer met appels. Wens ons kon nog so paar daggies gebly het. Dis ‘n plek wat ons altyd sal onthou en graag weer sal wil besoek” – “Mnr & Mev” Van Rooyen, Kaapstad, February 2017

What an exceptionally lovely spot – staff amazingly available, houses cosy – wonderful.” – Xanthe Hunt, Western Cape, February 2017

“Great place to get away from everything! Great staff and great atmosphere. Thank you! ” – Dane Lewis, Port Elizabeth , February 2017

“Presies wat ons verwag het dit sal wees. Rustig, pragtig en alles wat mens nodig het. Word ook goed bestuur, mooi tuine en alles is agter mekaar. Kan ook sien daar word moeite met die tuin gedoen en inheems geplant. ” – Wilhelm Lutjeharms, Somerset Wes, February 2017

Very comfortable cottages, peaceful surroundings. Great that there are noise restrictions in place. ” – Dave Kruger, Cape Town, February 2017

“We had an amzaing time, it is such a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. It has such a lovely atmosphere and everyone is so friendly. We will be back VERY soon. ” – Royce Griffin, Port Elizabeth, February 2017

“Best place ever to stay….will definitely recommend this to every person I know. Die eenheid is so mooi en volledig toegerus. Beter kan niemand voor vra nie. Voel gesang in die oggend wat jou begroet met vuurvliegies in die aand om nag te se.” – Ankia Pretoruis, Pretoria, February 2017

“A peaceful haven in a beautiful setting, yet close to Knysna and all its attractions. Wonderful bird watching opportunities and a lovely little outdoor meditation / yoga space. ” – Elaine Marchant, George, February 2017

“Thank you very much. We really enjoyed our stay. You have exceeded our expectations. The chalet was very clean, tidy and cosy.” – At & Elisbe Nel, Pretoria, February 2017

“What a sight to behold. Everything about Forest Edge is amazing. The history and surroundings. We loved every minute of it. We would not have wished to spend our honeymoon at any other place. We will be back!!!” – Mr & Mrs Fowler, Cape Town, February 2017

“What a wonderful slice of heaven! We so enjoyed our stay and will most definitely be back! The staff are so friendly, the cottages well maintained, the “feel” is so special. A home away from home.” – Karen Poole, Allensnek, February 2017

“If your goal is to have time to reconnect with friends and/or loved ones in a relaxed and tranquil atmosphere, then Forest Edge is the perfect destination. Perfect to be one with nature and make memories.” – Elmarie Kretsenger, Eastern Cape, February 2017

“Next time we’ll be back for a minimum of 5 days – this is truly a piece of heaven on earth.” – Heloise Ceronio, Midstream, February 2017

“Very nice cottages in the middle of the forest. very relax and chill.” – Matheus van Moerkerk, Netherlands, February 2017

“Dankie julle! Baie geniet!!” – Marisa Roelofse, Mosselbaai, February 2017

“This is a fantastic and peaceful place to recharge your batteries. Drupkelders hike is right next to Forest Edge and was well worth the effort to get to the waterfall and swimming pools.” – Glynnis Jackson, Johannesburg, February 2017

lovely remote place to rest and ponder your thoughts. it was a lovely place to welcome and say goodbye to family too x” – Vanessa Webster, United Kingdom, February 2017

“Great stay. We loved it all. We will only ever be staying here when we’re in the area – with or without the kids.” – Quintus van Jaarsveld, Cape Town, January 2017

“Thanks for a fantastic stay. Excellent all round, beautiful setting and people.” – Tony Sousalis, Chrismar, January 2017

“The tranquility of this site was heavenly for the soul.” – Henriette Pretorius, Secunda, January 2017

“We had a very nice stay. Tranquil, peaceful and relaxing after a day out. Close to various golf courses and Buffalo Bay with a beautiful beach and warm waters. We highly recommend this place!” – Louw Van Eeden, Cape Town, January 2017

“Excellent, will recommend to anyone to come and stay over. Slept restfully in clean linnen, house is kept very clean and kitchen is a pleasure to prepare food in. Will come back again.” – Marius Basson, Kraaifontein, January 2017

“Dankie dit was n lekker verblyf en van die begin af het ons vriendelike verwelkoming gekry. Baie dankie dit is rustig hier en baie veilig hier by Forest Edge.” – Ernest Kleinhans, Despatch, January 2017

“Had a wonderful time, enjoyed it very much. Beautiful settings” – Erica Van Schalkwyk, Humansdorp, January 2017

“Thanks for the Lovely Stay. Me and My Husband to be, feel so blessed. This trip and place is amazing! And of course, thanks for the lovely gifts, we will enjoy them. Keep this place the way it is, it’s SPECIAL! We felt really welcome, thanks a lot!” – Alexander & Esme, Netherlands, January 2017

“Fantastic experience. beautifull accomodation and very professional setup in a quiet, beautiful setting. Highly recommended!” – Divan Augustyn, Cape Town, January 2017

“Thank You for a truly wondeful stay. Forest Edge has been a taste of paradise, set in its tranquil forest gardens with the sounds of the birds and wildlife to keep us company ūüôā The cottage was perfect and our girls loved exploring and swinging in the hammock! A beautiful, peaceful location. We’ll be back :)” – Julia, Julius, Lucy & Chelsey Steyn, Aurora, January 2017

“We came here on our honeymoon – it was an absolutely superb destination. Staff were welcoming and hospitable, and cottages were immaculate. We will try to come back for anniversaries! The cottages are tucked away so you have absolute privacy, and the combination of wildlife, forest and beach activities are a perfect balance. Hugely recommended! ” – Samuel Biggs, Cape Town , January 2017

“This is a wonderful place. Very quaint and right next to the spectacular forest. We loved our honeymoon stay here!” – Nick Koning, East London, January 2017

“Wat ‘n salige week! ‘n Pragtige huisie met alles wat jy aan kon dink… Die gasvryheid van die personeel en goeie diens maak dat ons weer sal kom!” – Johan Viljoen, Brackenfell, January 2017

“Beautiful setting, very peaceful and relaxing.” – Khalid Chand, Johannesburg, January 2017

“Lekker stil en rustige omgewing om die batterye te laai. Huisie skoon en netjies met alles wat nodig is om lekker te kan bly.” – Otto & Marie Low, Centurion, January 2017

VERY RELAXING AND WILL DEFINITELY COME BACK” – Gunther Kapperer, Stellenbosch, January 2017

“Thanks for a lovely stay. Relaxing, quiet and peaceful.” – Rene & Andre Fourie, United Kingdom, January 2017

Loved the place, nice and peaceful.” – Melissa Petzer, Centurion, December 2016

“Een van die beste vakansies nog! Ongelooflike atmosfeer. en perfekte huisies: gesellig en baie skoon.” – Alida Louw, Potchefstroom, December 2016

“had a wonderful stay – would highly recommend this to everyone who needs a nice rest and also lot of adventure.” – Marietha Auret, Bellville, December 2016

awesome experience, would love to stay here again soon.” – Mabusang Mothata, Bloemfontein, December 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful stay once again. We will be back! ” – Magda Roets, Strand, December 2016

“We had a wonderful stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent cleaning service. Our stay was fantastic ” – Carmel Mclaren, Roodepoort , December 2016

“Thanks for a great stay and to Dries and Suzanne for being great hosts” – Steve Faure, Cape Town, December 2016

Once again we found peace in this hide-away-gem for the soul. It’s here in the stillness of the forest where you can really unwind – find yourself again. Where you can play with butterflies and bunnies and still hear the call of the Piet-My-Vrou and the Loerie high above you in the majestic treetops. It’s here where if you listen “inwards” you can hear the laughter of fairies. This place is very deeply settled in my heart. Sad to leave again after coming to pick up a piece of me which I left behind last year – knowing that I’ve left behind another piece of me. But also knowing that once again this is not farewell, but till we meet again.” – Marieke Van Staden, Port Elizabeth, December 2016

Peaceful and very comfortable, we loved the (optional) outdoor shower, the birds and bunnies and all the info on what to do in the area. Consider whether possible to re-arrange any of the interior furniture (just a little cramped in the double bedroom but really nothing serious). Perhaps provide even more info in the cottages for us birders – we left our birdbook behind – possibly a birdbook to borrow available at reception? ” – Sarah Charlton, Johannesburg, December 2016

“Absolutely amazing. This is the place to rest and recharge. We will be back soonest.” – Ansie Opperman, Cape Town, December 2016

“we will be back. this was comfortable and peaceful ” – Cobus Cronje, Vermont, December 2016

“We really enjoyed our stay, thank you for your hospitality! ” – Elizabeth Barnard, Durbanville , December 2016

“We are mature travelers and we were treated like royalty. We had an excellent stay and would highly recommend Forest Edge to anyone. We will be back! ” – Fienie De Klerk, Hermanus, December 2016

“Dankie vir ‘n heerlike en ontspanne tyd. Hierdie is die perfekte plek vanwaar ‘n mens die woud kan verken en terugkom na ‘n warm en gemaklike plek om te rus en te ontspan. Almal in die span doen uitstekende werk.” – Willem Swart, Ventersdorp, December 2016

“Very peaceful, wonderful experience. Lovely cottages, very clean and well maintained.” – Waldo Swanepoel, Port Elizabeth, December 2016

“endroit charmant excellent chalet confortable et sympa ideal pour repos or Charming place, excellent, comfortable and nice chalet ideal for rest” – Marianne Gabbud, Switzerland, December 2016

“What a wonderful, relaxing, peaceful space this is. We have enjoyed the quiet, the bird song and the local walks in the reserve. Our stay has been met with warm friendly smiles. 5* Thank you so much.” – Tina & Allan, Norfolk UK, November 2016

Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!” – Robbert Bibbey, UK, November 2016

“We had a wonderful time here and it exceeded our expectations. Love the peaceful and tranquil settings. We will definitely be back.” – Gary & Louise Ward, PE, November 2016

“Booking and stay was excellent, absolutely recommended!” – Helma Jensen, Brackenfell, November 2016

“It was our third time here, as always an excellent experience. Very sad to leave this beautiful place but will definitely be back! Thanks for the lovely hospitality!” – The Benade Brothers, Upington, November 2016

“Closest to the forest, in a flowering garden full of forest birds, we varied hike from our doorstep into the rock pools of the ancient forest with relaxing on our veranda looking out on the froggy pond. ” – Scott Carroll, USA, November 2016

“Tranquility and everything one needs in a heavenly spot. Memorable visit and will be back” – The Grobblers, Cape Town, November 2016

“this is by far one of the best self catering places I have ever stayed at. I will now and always be a customer for life” – Tracy Wills Cape Town, November 2016

Fantastic stay, the peace and quiet does wonders to the soul” – Envar Saaiman, Cape Town, November 2016

most excellent place. coming back soon” – Lukas de Kock, Pretoria, November 2016

Very good service and an excellent getaway.” – Danny Swanepoel, Port Elizabeth, November 2016

An overall excellent experience!!! Awesome accommodation, great hospitality and privacy at it’s best. We would recommend Forest Edge to anyone, any day!!!” – Natasja Slabbert, Rooihuiskraal, November 2016

“Vreeslik baie dankie vir ‘n onvergeetlike wegbreekkans by julle ongelooflike instansie. Ons sal die ervaring en herhinneringe vir altyd by ons dra. Die moeite wat julle gemaak het hier is gelykstaande aan die wat ons al by 5-ster hotelle ervaar het. Well done!” – Karla & Reinhardt Hoogendijk, Parow, November 2016

“We had the most wonderful, relaxing stay. What a pleasant surprise to see how well equipped and clean the chalet was. Management are lovely people. We will most certainly be visiting again soon. Thank you for everything.” – YOLANDI DE LANGE, PE, November 2016

“Baie dankie vir ‘n vreeslike aangename vakansie. Julle het ‘n wonderlike plek hier verrig, en julle moeite om dit so te behou gaan nie unnoticed nie. Fairy Den het my siel tot ruste gebring in ‘n manier wat ek nie gewoond is nie; so ek stap hier uit as ‘n nuwe mens!” – Janine Maree, Johannesburg, November 2016

“we had an amazing time at forest edge. we will definitely recommend this place to our family and friends!! Thank you” – Robb Connolly, Cape Town, November 2016

“Forest Edge is a lovely space to disconnect and experience the silence of forest life. ” – Garrett Loubser, Cape Town, November 2016

“If I owned Forest Edge, I would not change anything. Forest Edge is truly one of the most fantastic brake away resorts.” – Nazeedah Hanekom, Cape Town, October 2016

Idylic venue, peaceful setting and extremely child friendly.” – Elzaan Mitchell, Somerset West, October 2016

“very friendly people, very nice cabins. for the nature lovers and peace and rest for your soul! ” – Corne Van der Merwe, Sunland, October 2016

Very Soothing and calming environment. Great for family and relaxing time.” – Natasha Bell, Cape Town, October 2016

“Awesome stay. So peaceful and beautiful. Will definitely see us in the future. Make sure to visit this place SOON!!!” – Wayne Duvenage, Benoni, October 2016

“Baie dankie vir die huisie. Ons het goed gerus, en sal beslis weer kom, in die lae seisoen. Die stilte was wat ons nodig gehad het. Julle bemarking is goed en deeglik.” – Pieter Maritz, Stellenbosch, October 2016

“Baie danie vir ‘n wonderlike tydtjie hier by julle, gasvryheid is WOW! Dankie vir al die moeite wat julle doen en vir al die klein bederfies, dit laat mens SPESIAAL voel ūüôā Ons sal enige tyd weer kom kuier.” – Marelize & Oswaldt, George, October 2016

“This was a lovely stay. We will definitely be back. It was just what we needed. Thank you for a great stay and awesome service.” – Ashley Dreyden Worcester , October 2016

Beautiful surroundings and great accommodation” – Kim Bruil, Nederland, October 2016

“We had a very nice stay. The children enjoyed the environment and the nature was superb! We will come back soon….” – Marinette Joubert, Prince Albert, October 2016

“We were surprised by the quality of the cottage. Very good. Nice settings. Beautiful garden.” – Dr Jean-Luc Bazire, Mauritius, October 2016

“Fantastic, Fantastic – very peacefull, just too short….. ” – Werner Myburgh, Randburg, October 2016

“We had a fantastic time at Forest Edge. I wish we could stay longer. What a beautiful and tranquil retreat! We loved your warm hospitality and your attention to detail. Really refreshing. Keep doing what you doing!” – Elridge Edwards, Wynberg, October 2016

“Very relaxing, close to nature. Had an awesome time. Thanks for the friendly hospitality.” – Lara Callaghan, Cape Town, October 2016

“It was an absolute stunning cabin to stay in. Beautiful surroundings and excellent service ūüôā .” – Doreen Kruger, Malmesbury, October 2016

Everything was just perfect.” – Joe Geldenhuys, George, October 2016

“Wat ‘n oulike mooi plek. Dankie vir julle ekstra moeite met die champagne. Ons het baie lekker gerus, gestap, en gebraai. Die buite stort is ‘n wenner.” – Die Folschers, Jeffreysbaai, October 2016

“A tranquil escape surrounded by an exquisite indigenous forest. What more can one ask. Lovely accommodation. Loved our stay. Thank you ” – Isabelle Michez, Hermanus, October 2016

“Forest Edge is the most beautiful & romantic place. We had a wonderful stay over here. Baie dankie vir julle gasvryheid en vriendelikheid” – Andre Swart, Hartenbos, October 2016

“Wow!! Absoluut ‘n mooie plekkie. Die rustigheid en skoonheid is iets ongelooflik. Dankie vir julle gasvryheid. #honeymoonvibes!!” – “Mnr & Mev” Snyman, PE, October 2016

Excellent experience, will be back again and highly recommend it to all! A nature lovers dream… ” – Dereck Sigamoney, Claremont, October 2016

“This is a little piece of heaven on earth. Stunning!” – Anette Wilken, Port Elizabeth, September 2016

“Very good experience & value for money” – Lynette Cilliers, Vanderbijlpark, September 2016

“Ons kuier was net te kort en sal volgende keer beslis langer wees. Dankie vir ‘n wonderlike, vriendelike en onvergeetlike ondervinding!” – Bernhard Pretorius, Jeffreysbay, September 2016

Wonderful and peaceful stay. Very comfortable. Well worth a relaxing stay! ” – Shannon Moore-Barnes, Port Elizabeth, September 2016

“Thank you so much for the friendly greetings on our arrival, the hospitality and the beautiful cottage. You really do go out of your way to make your guests feel at home. The stay was amazing. Even on the rainy days. We will be back.” – Marlene Mulvey, Port Elizabeth, September 2016

“This was definitely recommended for anyone just wanting to get away and to refresh!! Excellent” – Roger Wessels, George, September 2016

“What a lovely place to relax and experience nature. Highly commended.” – Levina Vermeulen, Vanderbijlpark, September 2016

“What a great place, top accommodation and very friendly hosts. Will definitely be back.” – Norman Payne, Gauteng, September 2016

“Wat anders kan ‘n mense se as Hemel op aarde. Julle was reg, die bos en verblyf kruip diep in jou hart in. Dankie vir die bederf, dit was baie spesiaal en word opreg waardeer. Dis met ‘n vol hart en tevrede siel wat ons vandag groet, maar sien julle weer.” – Willie & Hester Bezuidenhout, Uitenhage, September 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful four nights. So relaxing and in such a beautiful setting. Loved all the new little surprises (picnic baskets ect). We will be back.” – Tamzin-Jade Jacobs, Pinelands, September 2016

“What a piece of heaven. Well kept place and such a friendly management couple. Will be back.” – Corne Lutzkie, Vanderbijlpark, September 2016

“Enjoyed every minute of our stay loved all the attention to detail in the cottage.” – Gerda Papendorf, Stilbaai, September 2016

“What a beautiful place!! Thank you for making me feel so special and welcome. I will recommend your establishment 100% The silence is golden.” – Tonia Schofield, Knysna, August 2016

“Beautiful place, loved every minute. Superbly managed.” – Alex Nurse, Knysna, August 2016

“everything was excellent and this place will be recommended to family and friends. please dont change anything here.” – Madelaine Cockrell, Hartenbos, August 2016

“A wonderful setting, relaxing and restful. Very well maintained cottages.” – Michelle Schofield, George, August 2016

“Forest Edge is really a nature lovers paradise and the area is full of wonderful SA history. We will come again.” – Tersia Strydom, Cape Town, August 2016

“We had an amazing time. Everything was just beautiful and I am still awed by the warm welcome from Susan, Amanda and Danie. Everything so proffessional. Thank you!” – Lorna Mketo, Parklands, August 2016

Really fantastic venue with super friendly and helpful management and staff.” – Marthinus Pagel, Robertson, August 2016

“Knus en snoesig! Besonder beindruk met wat julle hier vermag het en die wonderlike geleentheid om vir ‘n paar dae hierdie paradys met julle te kon deel.” – Christina Jansen van Rensburg, Mosselbaai, August 2016

“Watter ongelooflikke ervaring! Die rustigheid en absolute stilte met net die natuurgeluide. Dankie vir die verassingspakkie. Hierdie tipe gebaar maak julle uitstaan bo alle ander plekke. Dankie vir die spesiale aandag aan ons behoeftes sonder dat ons daarvoor gevra het of daaraan gedink het. Julle sien ons beslis weer.” – Die Germann Familie, Mosselbaai, August 2016

“A lovely stay at Forest Edge. We wish we could have stayed longer. Great for children.” – Talita Guizot, Klapmuts, August 2016

“We recommend Forest Edge if you want to have an untouched space in your heart touched in the most peaceful of ways. Astounding tranquility! We will definitely be back! Many thanks to the Management and the team!” – Marc Smit, England, August 2016

“Very peaceful and relaxing accommodation. Wonderful venue for children to enjoy as well.” – Nicole Burger, Cape Town, August 2016

“Absolutely loved our stay at Fairy Den. It was private, relaxing and the little touches from our hosts made it extra special.” – Lorna & John, Cape Town, August 2016

“Wow! Als was perfek in die huisie. Ek kan werklik se dat ek geen fout kon vind nie. Dankie vir die mandtjie met “goodies” Groete en sien weer!” – Owen & Hanlie Spalding, Durbanville, August 2016

“Very sweet, cosy & peaceful cottage. Absolutely love this area and look forward to coming back to explore more in the warmer seasons.” – The Shooter Family, Cape St Francis, August 2016

“An absolutely beautiful cottage, excellent value for money and stunning surrounds.” – Jaclyn Neff, Cape Town, August 2016

“Nice place, nice people, fantastic moment of holiday here.” – Valentin Lhoste, France, August 2016

“The most amazing place to have a fantastic holiday. All the birds, sounds of froggies absolutely lovely. Thank you Danie, Dries & Susan!” – Mike Mirtyn, Nelspruit, August 2016

“Highly recommended, a home from home!” – Colin & Ros Schmidt, July 2016

“I needed to find a place to clear my mind – I am leaving with my mind, heart and soul at peace – baie dankie dit was waarlik wonderlik.” – Ina Bisschoff, Cape Town, July 2016

“Don’t believe in too good to be true? Then this is the place to have your mind changed. You get more than advertised, right from the word welcome by Dries and Susan. And then follows the charming views and beautiful, well maintained and practical houses with a stoep, right on the edge of the forest. Be sure to keep an eye out for the Hummingbirds!” – Ian Swanepoel, Pretoria, July 2016

“What a fantastic breakaway! It was a great way to spend family time together in nature with great hospitality and service. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to rejuvenate and break away from it all. Thank you!” – Liza Wilmot, Lovemore Heights, July 2016

“Very beautiful and welcoming place. Definitely recommendable to anyone.” – Laurentius vandenWorm, Stellenbosch , July 2016

“Very good place and we had a good time here. Will come again and its peace full here.” – Lana Kleynhans, Cape Town, July 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful stay! Our hearts are heavy to leave, but you look forward to our next stay in the future.” – Benette Greeff, Vredendal, July 2016

“What a great place! We felt spoilt, being campers. The nearness of the forest made it extra special. The hammock was great! We would love to come back.” – Helette Norval, Somerset West, July 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful stay, clean and friendly and very efficient in all facilities. What a wonderful gesture of the market basket, with fresh flowers and veg and fruit, wow!” – Adriaan Mostert, Big Bay, July 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful, relaxing and quiet time. We really enjoyed it.” – Neil Boonzaier, Cape Town, July 2016

“We felt extremely welcone here and especially the working staff were amazing! You really have a winning team here, well done to all!” – Willem Van Riet, June 2016

“Your part in organising and celebrating a wedding in about 48 hours is GREATLY appreciated. Forest Edge will remain forever in our memory as the place where we started our married life… and a place we hope to return to soon, so that we may really enjoy the facilities, as organising a wedding in such a short time meant we could not enjoy Forest Edge as much as we had hoped! Nothing could have been more perfect.” – Beth Louw and Dave Pedersen, Fisherhaven, June 2016

Good for kids and good place to get away from work. All good, keep up the good work.” – Elanie Scheepers, Klein-Brakrivier, June 2016

“Superb. What an amazing place. As parents with toddlers, one always hopes that you’ve made a good choice for kid friendly accommodation. This place rocks, and ticks all the boxes. The Jubilee forest walk close by is a family must, and so is lunch at Totties. We’ll definitely be back. Thanks a mill.” – Charl van der Merwe, Milnerton, June 2016

“A very peaceful and enjoyable stay. Thank you.” – Caroline Fitzgerald, Montagu, June 2016

“We really had an amazing time here. The accommodation was absolutely wonderful and the staff friendly and helpful. We will definitely recommend this place to everyone. Thank you. ” – Barry Sandler, June 2016

“Wonderful restful stay, thank you.” – Shirley Mugglestone, Little Brak, June 2016

“This place is absolutely stunning. The best place you could ever hide away from all the city life, with your partner. Best value for money.” – Alexander Kagerer, Cape Town, June 2016

“A fantastic place to come and relax. Close to all interesting places. Loved the donkeys. Will be back.” – Amanda Baldie, Port Elizabeth, June 2016

“What a beautiful, tranquil place. Highly recommended for couples and families. Cosy fires and effortless relaxation… Please expect us back soon! A wonderful weekend away, the cottage was awesome. We will bring our friends and family to come and experience this tranquil, humble part of our country.¬† I’d change nothing – Pure Perfection!” – Tarryn Meiring, Port Elizabeth, May 2016

“What an amazing experience! We will definitely be back for an extended stay.” – Siggy Heuer, Windhoek, Namibia, May 2016

“Baie dankie, dit was n heerlike kuiertjie. Grootouers en al die kleinkinders versprei oor 3 huisies. Dankie vir bestuur se hulpvaardigheid. Twee keer Drupkelders toe gestap in 4 dae. Sal sekerlik weer n draai maak om ou memories te verfris. Weer eens baie dankie.” – Kobus en Ansie Meyer, Saldanha (rest of family from Otjiwarongo, Cape Town, Despatch), May 2016

“Thanks for the stay, very quiet and comfy.” – Greg Simpson, Cape Town, May 2016

“Such a pleasure to arrive at such a quaint little cottage in the midst of such beauty. So clean and smelling so fresh. Forest Edge is just such a special place – a ‘hidden gem‘, a little ‘piece of heaven‘, full of peace and serenity. Such a blessing to be part of God’s beautiful creation. We felt so at peace, hearing the croaking frogs at night and the chirping birds in the morning. Totties’ breakfast food is excellent, so is the service. Thanks to management for your welcome and excellent service! We loved our time here! Will be back soon to do the nature walks!” – Zelda Plank, Somerset West, May 2016

“Many thanks to the caring team at Forest Edge, we had a wonderful 2-week holiday. We were using this precious time for me to write my book and for hubby to type it up. Where else would we have found the peace and tranquility that Forest Edge provides? Our prayers are that this awesome, peaceful GEM will continue to allow each and every visitor here to leave feeling rejuvenated. As we leave today, some tears will be left on the grass to bring abundance and joy to Forest Edge.” – Jurie and Rita Pieterse, Midrand, May 2016

An awesome place, an awesome time! It was an incredible visit. I can definitely recommend Forest Edge. If you love nature, you will love it! Its perfect.” – Debbie Higgs, Johannesburg, May 2016

“Dear Forest Edge team. Our stay was the perfect “babymoon” destination. The peace and quiet is so calming and relaxing. The cottages offer everything one might need and more, and were incredibly cosy. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Thank you for your amazing hospitality. We truly love it here and hope to be back with the little one.” – Graham and Geri Saunders, Cape Town, May 2016

“As usual my stay here was truly magical.” – Greg Forster, Knysna, May 2016

Everything is asolutely perfect!” – Cindy Guercio, Cape Town, May 2016

TOO SHORT IN THIS MAGICAL PLACE.” – Garth, May 2016

“Thank you for allowing us in your paradise. We were treated like royalty and enjoyed every minute of staying in this peaceful place. Batteries recharged. Keep it as it is!!!” – Maryke Coetzer Hilton, April 2016

“Baie dankie vir n heerlike wegbreek. Was n fantastiese 2 dae! Sien julle weer. We had a fantastic time. Great MTB routes, beautiful walks in the nearby forest and coming back to a clean, neat cottage for a good night’s rest.” – Johan en Stephanie Stoffberg, Stellenbosch, April 2016

Very nice and comfortable cottage. Great setting!” – Richard Kaplan, Cape Town, April 2016

“We had a group of 10, all of whom thoroughly enjoyed the stay and enthused about everything in the chalets. You will find that several will be returning with their families. Thank you for a wonderful experience.” – Anthony Hooper, Hermanus, April 2016

“Thank you, we enjoyed our stay, the peacefulness, the gardens and the birds. A lovely place for a group of friends to get together. Very convenient for the forest walks which we loved.” – The Hazells, April 2016

Superb 3 days. The accommodation is perfect and the environs fantastic. ” – The Steins, April 2016

Absolute peace and tranquility. We loved being left alone to do as we wanted. Slept late, walked in the forest and made lekker kos. Just a perfect hideaway for some good R&R. Welcoming and enchanting. We could have stayed another 3 weeks! Shall give this cottage 5 stars. Highly recommended.” – Jacques and Sam Rogers, Red Tin Roof – Riebeeck Kasteel, April 2016

“We had a fantastic stay here at Forest Edge. It’s in a beautiful setting and everything seemed to have been considered in relation to our comfort.” – Nicholas Mead, London, UK, April 2016

“Well done for keeping the garden and grounds so clean. Thanks for making our stay so wonderful. We will definitely be back.” – Sarel Kleynhans, Somerset West, April 2016

“Thanks for making our honeymoon an incredible and unforgettable experience. We will definitely come back again! We really enjoyed our stay, was an awesome week.” – Jeremy de Reuck, Pretoria, April 2016

A lovely relaxed stay! Cottage is very comfortable and had everything we needed. Relax is hard for both of us to do, as we don’t know the word, running our own guest house. Braai and breakfast packs – perfect – thank you. Lovely staff!” – Nina and Derek Poole, April 2016

“Thanks for a great stay. Lovely peaceful place. Will certainly keep it in mind for future stays in South Africa.” – Lovetts and Kendals, UK, April 2016

Excellent facilities in cottage and beautiful surroundings. Such a lovely landscape with an extremely well appointed cabin – so cosy! We did the Drupkelders ‘walk’ – very scenic and also very steep! Espresso is so sweet and we loved the swings and were fighting over the hammock. Thanks for a beautiful stay – with some fine instructions – Lighten up on rules and trust your guests to be responsible… ” – Caitlin, Sara and Julia Janssens, Rondebosch, April 2016
Management responds: we wish we could! You will be amazed what some guests get up to.  Rules are sadly necessary for the protection of Forest Edge and the 99% of responsible guests such as yourself : Р)

“Forest Edge is a well maintained professional retreat. Close to some of the most beautiful hikes in Knysna. We will be returning. Excellent cleanliness and grounds stunning, paradise! Enjoyed our stay. Loved the tranquil environment and the accommodation was great. Rest, relax, revitalize, regenerate, radiate.” – Clinton Clark, Somerset West, March 2016

“Was great to be back again as always – a great stay. Gardens are just beautiful and I so enjoyed the fresh herbs all over the garden. Michael’s favourite part, as always, was to feed Hansel and Gretel some carrots.” – Delana Green, Somerset West, March 2016

“We have never experienced tranquility like this. It was an absolutely amazing experience. The children loved it.” – Nicola de Jager, Port Elizabeth, March 2016

What a relaxing stay… an awesome experience. Leave everything as it is : )” – Conraad Booyens, Nelspruit, March 2016

“Enjoyed the permaculture garden, Joseph is a gem!” – Louis van Zyl, Klerksdorp, March 2016

“A wonderful experience, very friendly management. Relaxing stay. Very quiet area which enhances the forest feeling. ” – Jacques du Plessis, Boksburg, March 2016

Excellent stay. Enjoyed the peace and overall ambiance.” – Sebastian Ova, Chatsworth, March 2016

“Dankie dat julle die geyser fout so vinnig identifiseer en reggemaak het.” – Andre Pieterse, Stellenbosch, March 2016

Beautiful surroundings, peaceful, interesting facts about area. Owner and management very professional. Will visit again.” – Estelle Minnaar, Welgemoed, March 2016

“Very peaceful surroundings. Excellent hospitality.” – Melinda Greeff, Strand, March 2016

“Absolutely an amazing, peaceful and tranquil accommodation. Such a lovely time with my beautiful wife. Couldn’t ask for a better place to honeymoon! Felt right at home, don’t want to leave! Espresso is the best cat ever. Will definitely be back.” – Mel and Jono Hol, Sandton, March 2016

Goed versorgde plekkie. Baie lekker gebly. Die bestuur is baie hulpvaardig en vriendelik.” – Michiel Buys, Pretoria, March 2016

“What a gem of a venue! So glad we found this beautiful spot! A re-charge for mind, body and soul. We will definitely be back soon.” – Larry Ripsold, Milnerton, March 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful stay. The cottage and grounds are beautiful. We wish we could have stayed longer.” – Micaela Bascand, Sudan, March 2016

We had so much fun and the facilities are excellent. Our stay here was fantastic, so much to do and see. We definitely want to return.” – Kylie and David Sage, Pretoria, March 2016

“Thank you so much for your incredible hospitality. You couldn’t have been more willing or accommodating. It’s a MASSIVE shame we aren’t stying longer. I may have even learnt how to light a braai! Would have loved to see more of the Forest and all it has to show, maybe next time. Had a wonderful hike, swam in waterfall, lunch on Knysna Head – bliss!!! PS – the stars at night – WOW!” – Kath and Samuel Scott, London, UK, March 2016

“Such a peaceful and lovely spot, we love it! Lovely stay, will definitely be back. Lots of history to this area of the woodcutters, and an old gold mine. Forest is too stunning.” – Martin and Belinda Cary, Cape Town, March 2016

“Die omgewing is lieflik. Om in die tuin te sit en eet is al op sy eie n heerlike ervaring, die aande met sy sterreprag is onvergeetlik, die stap deur die bos is n avontuur. Dis pragtig! Ons het baie van die cabin gehou – cosy and luxe. Alles wat n mens nodig het om die lewe vergemaklik en plesierig te maak. Ons het n lieflike vuurtjie in die haard gemaak in die reen; met die heerlike gemakstoele en n glasie wyn was dit ontspanning uit die boonste rakke. Die Drupkelder roete het dit nog ook n smaak van avontuur gegee. Just keep it like it is.” – Anton Snyman, Middelburg, March 2016

Lovely place… cut off from city life… unique experience.” – Ranveer Singh, Cape Town, March 2016

Service excellent, friendly staff. Clean = 5*star. Peace and quietness. Thank you!” – Laurette and Paul Hanekom, Hartbeespoortdam, March 2016

“It was very relaxing to stay and easy to get to and around. Management very helpful.” – Blossum Gilmour, Papau Nieu-guinea, March 2016

“We’d recommend Forest Edge as Excellent.” – Marion Otten, Germany, March 2016

“What a relaxing few days! Loved the cabin and the two donkeys. Staff is very friendly. Would definitely recommend Forest Edge for young and old! Love everything as it is.” – Zani de Beer, Yzerfontein, March 2016

Very Good. Surely recommended. Very nice and quiet place, also suitable for children.” – Anna Walsted, Denmark, March 2016

“Baie dankie vir great diens, en n mooi skoon plek om in te bly. Ons sal julle weer sien!” – Anlo Joubert, Fochville, March 2016

Pragtige plek, baie rustig. Dankie dat ons hier kon oorbly.” – Adri en Paul Els, Pretoria, March 2016

“Ons het wonderlik gerus en die stilte en wonderlike natuur geniet. Sal graag n heerlike gemaklike stoel op stoep wou he om die pragtige natuur te ervaar. Baie dankies vir n ontspanne paar dae. Hou dit net soos dit is, vir die natuurliefhebber.” – Jan Rademan, Hartenbos, March 2016

Enjoyed my weekend.” – Michael Meyer, Mosselbay, March 2016

Knysna Loerie / Lourie / Knysna Touraco
Photo: Christopher van Zyl, Jun 2012, "where magic happens"
Forest Edge guest reviews, Guest feedback,
Photo by Catherine Jansen v Rensburg (April 2010), she says: "'n stukkie hemel op aarde!"
Anna Gauche (age 83) resting on the rocks after doing the Drupkelders trail down to the gorge
The "blessed" woodcutter graves at Forest Edge - by the delightful honeymooners, Zack & Celeste de Beer (Sept 2010)
Woodcutters Graves, Forest Edge,
The "blessed" woodcutter graves at Forest Edge - by the delightful honeymooners, Zack & Celeste de Beer (Sept 2010)
artletitia