Forest Edge Guest Reviews - Self-catering accommodation Knysna, Garden Route
Accommodation Knysna
Garden Route Self Catering Accommodation

Forest Edge Guest Reviews

what guests say about Forest Edge (latest first)

*** Here follows most recent feedback (past two years or so) Sourced from written guestbook  and/or official electronic feedback forms. You can also see the older guest feedback HERE. We also occasionally receive less glowing letters…luckily they refer back to 2010 🙂

*** NOTE: if you have seen this page before, refresh (CNTRL-F5) to see new additions 🙂

“Thank you Danie for creating such a wonderful and peaceful environment! We loved every second of our stay here and will certainly be back. We are going to mis this place!” – Francois Kemp, Cape Town, October 2017 (Our first AirBnB guests : ))

“Wonderfully peaceful, beautiful setting, lush gardens, friendly hosts. Thank you!” – Derrick Carson, Jeffreysbaai, October 2017 

“A wonderful stay – and you have thought of everything! Thanks so much for a lovely stay!” – Myrna Cook, Cape Town, October 2017 

“This house (Froggy Pond) was a little haven for our family. So much to do, we should have stayed longer. What a special place with everything you need… even entertainment. I note the care with which everything is selected. Thank you for being such good stewards with all that surrounds you…. and your guests” – Heather & Mike Scott, Somerset West, October 2017

“Wasn’t sure what to expect, but what a fantastic escape. Absolutely everything our family could possibly need or want from donkeys to jungle gyms to cricket sets and frogs. We were cozy and welcomed and immediately felt at home. Thank you for a wonderful experience.” – Van Wyk Family, Cape Town, October 2017

“I was mesmerized by the beautiful birds, bunnies and fireflies. The atmosphere is very relaxing. Baie dankie vir ‘n ongelooflike wonderlike ervaring. Die kuiertjie hier was die hoogtepunt van ons vakansie!” – Andreas van Wyk, Belville, October 2017

It was an excellent stay ” – Morgan Pillay, Verulam Heights, October 2017

Nie genoeg woorde om ons happiness te beskryf nie!! Ons het 2 jaar terug in die selfde huisie gebly – PRICELESS! Die Forest, Vars lug, Vuurvliegies, Loeries, Stilte! Awesome gasheer en personeel! Kan nie wag vir ons volgende kuiertjie nie!” – Andre & Chantal Geldenhuys, Bloemfontein, September 2017

The most fantastic honeymoon venue!! Danie and his team is excellent with service and warm generosity. Much appreciated.” – Jason & Nicole Stoffels, Groot Drakenstein, September 2017

“I can really not fault anything. It was perfect, adequately stocked, clean and very personal. ” – Jaco Fourie, Windhoek, September 2017

Big thank you for another wonderful stay! We loved our visit here. So peaceful and so relaxing. Will be back again. Take care!” – Marco, Tammy, Gemma & Aimee van Zyl, PE, September 2017

Absolutely immaculate. Cannot fault this stunning retreat. We are locals and will be back very soon. Thank you Danie & Amanda xxx Love the Sharp Family” – Svelka Sharp, Knysna, September 2017

It is still a remarkable place and I am looking forward to coming back once more” – Tandice Gorton, Bellville, September 2017

We had the most amazing time, the Staff are lovely, the area is central and so much activities available to us.” – Shafiqa Esack, Cape Town, September 2017

“Such a beautiful place, we are in awe and had a wonderful time. 10/10, thank you.  ” – Annette Barry, Cape Town, September 2017

Lovely, peaceful stay. Thank you so much. ” – Caroline Fitzgerald, Montagu, September 2017

“Baie lekker plekkie en ons sal definitief weer terug kom, baie lekker buitelig ervaring en hou baie van die natuur.” – Johan Malan, Bellville, August 2017

“Thank you for your hospitality. This is heaven on earth. We enjoyed the time here. ” – Marius Van der Berg, Musina, August 2017

EXCELLENT FACILITY, LOVELY COTTAGES.” – Louis van Rensburg, Mosselbaai, August 2017

Great Experience everything is awesome at Forest Edge!” – Juan Van Niekerk, Gordons Bay, August 2017

“Ons het heerlik gekuier. Die ligging is uitstekend naby die bos om in te gaan stap. Die begeleide toer van Meagan Vermaas was uitstekend en hoogs aan te beveel.” – Marianne Van Heerden, Parow, July 2017

“Peaceful magnificent location. Our cottage had all the personal touches to make it that more special! Thank you for all the little details management ensures to make our stay so more special!” – Chris de Jager, Randpark Ridge, July 2017

Absolutely loved our stay and would definitely come back!!” – Peter Foster, Cape Town , July 2017

“A lovely comfortable stay, great evening fires after beautiful forest walks. Thank you!” – Nix Carrie_Wilson, Cape Town, July 2017

Very good service and good hospitality. Very well-equipped. Nice stay. Highly recommended. Will visit again for sure.” – Jan Olivier, Mosselbaai, July 2017

“Great place to stay, easy comfort on the front doorstep of the forest. Awesome place!” – Suzanne Exner, Durbanville, July 2017

THANK YOU FOR VERY NICE STAY” – Johann Jordaan, Paarl, July 2017

“Place is so safe and quite. Thumbs up ” – Brenda Mdlalo, East London, July 2017

Very enjoyable stay, as usual!” – Neil Boonzaier, Cape town , July 2017

Forest Edge is exactly what is advertised on the internet, Peaceful, Tranquil, accommodation splendid. My husband and I were welcomed warmly when we arrived. The Drupkelders hike was awesome, breathtaking. We would really recommend this hike to everyone. My husband and I will certainly be coming to Forest Edge in the near future” – Glynn & Janine Daniels (newly weds), Kuilsrivier, July 2017

Baie dankie vir ‘n heerlike kuier en die bos-ervaring!” – Heloise Visagie, Durbanville, July 2017

Baie goeie akkomodasie – sal vir enige iemand aanbeveel” – Lome De Vries, Durbanville, July 2017

“It was a special experience in nature. Everything is beautiful! The Jubilee Creek Picnic was a definite highlight” – Lianie Du Toit, Kuilsrivier, July 2017

“‘n Rustige wegbreek, veilig en heerlik gemaklik. Julle sien ons weer.” – Jonathan Pearce, Bellville, June 2017

“Lovely cosy, comfortable, and very well-equipped cottages. Perfect for children.” – Michelle Hardy-Berrington, Walmer , June 2017

“Heerlike wegbreek met niks anders as die natuur as jou bure. Sielskos! Sal definetief weer kom!!!! ” – Johan Coetzer, Durbanville , June 2017

“Forest Edge is the perfect place for honeymooners and the best place for relaxation and peace. Top place to sleep in with lots of privacy. Equipped with everything you need and loads to do. We will definitely see you again soon! ” – Cardia Paulse, Cape Town, June 2017

absolute heaven. The stay was serene, relaxing, comfortable, and very homey. Its very child friendly and a lot to keep the little one entertained. – Melissa Jaftha, Cape Town, June 2017

“Although nature was not kind to us during our stay, with the nearby terrible fires and windstorm at the time, we had a most enjoyable stay at Forest Edge. Not only was the accommodation excellent, but the service and treatment by the management and staff were of the highest order. We will most definitely be back in future.” – David George Grewar,  June 2017

We had a lovely, relaxing time with our young children. It is a really beautiful place. The outdoor shower was fantastic!” – Kevin Bethel, Cape Town, June 2017

“Baie dankie vir ‘n ongelooflike plek en gasvryheid. Alles was PERFEK. Sal definitief weer kom.” – Kobus Mouton, Tergniet, May 2017

“Baie lekker gebly, rustige omgewing naby die natuur.” – Pieter Bothma, De Doorns, May 2017

“uiters gate uit geniet, een van die beter plekke” – Gert Tolken, Kleinmond, May 2017

Epitome of romance! The best place for a romantic weekend away!”Lara Zeelie, Port Elizabeth, May 2017

Very well managed and stay was excelent.”Gert Strydom, Jeffreysbaai, May 2017

We had a wonderful honeymoon here at forest edge. We felt very special and spoiled. The mtb trails are awesome and very close. We will be back next year 🙂Carrie-lee v Rensburg, Cape Town, May 2017

Very tranquil and intimate setting. All very tidy. Everything provided for. Highly recommended. Will return!”Ilna Roux, Port Elizabeth, May 2017

Lovley experience. Cottage was very clean and staff very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the peacefulness. Will definately come back!”Jorika Brink, Knysna, May 2017

Beautiful well maintained accommodation. A very peaceful relaxing stay on the edge of the forest with lots of silence and birdsong. Will definitely recommend to family and friend.”Stuart Knight, Cape Town, May 2017

Beautiful and very peaceful. Can definitely recommend it to others.” – Guillaume Martins, Florida Glen , May 2017

Forest edge is a little gem of a spot with an amazing selection of things to do & very comfortable cabins.” – Rebecca Kooiker, Johannesburg, May 2017

Thank you for an incredible time, it is soo beautiful here. We enjoyed our week very much and will definitely return many times more. Thank you for making our honeymoon SO special.” – The Ball’s, Durbanville, May 2017

Excellent stay, enjoyed every minute. Loved the attention to detail and every need is catered for. ” – Elisabet Nel, Cape Town, May 2017

it was wonderfully quiet and so unbelievably beautiful. Thank you for the great hospitality.” – Astrid Koch, Cape Town, May 2017

You can experience a little heaven on earth. Enjoy simplicity with luxury.” – Elizabeth Heldsinger, Kosmosdal , May 2017

Our time at Forest Edge was amazing. It was peaceful and tranquil just how we would have wanted it to be.” – Hanre Marais, Bellville, May 2017

Wonderful spot to relax. Heavenly” – Steve Connolly, Cape Town May 2017

Thank you for the wonderful stay and most nicest welcome. We really enjoyed our time out away from the busy lives we have in PE. We will be back with our daughter.” – Brent & Bev Starr, PE, April 2017

An absolutely lovely place to be. The best place I have been in a long time. The next time we come, we will book out all 5 units and bring the extended family with. Well done Forest Edge!” – Michelle Kleinhans, Port Elizabeth, April 2017

WE HAD A VERY RESTFUL TIME, BEAUTIFUL SETTING.” – Marius Pretorius, Bloemfontein, April 2017

we had a great stay. Would love to come back and bring our son.” – Hayley Davison, Hermanus, April 2017

wonderful to experience the Knysna forest first hand. Forest Edge is a great place to relax and have all the amenities” – Adri Langenhoven, Pretoria, April 2017

I loved the fact that Forest Edge is a green lodge, eco-friendly, sustainable to planet earth, biodegradable, self-sustaining, and in the Knysna forest. If you are a green person this is for you.” – Beatrice Mazwi, Lanseria,  April 2017

Thanks for a lovely stay! We will recommend Forest Edge to every one! We will definitely see you soon.” – Marnus & Jean-Marie, Newlyweds from Cape Town,  April 2017

Wish it was closer to Pretoria!Hannes Enslin, Pretoria,  April 2017

“Thank you for a lovely stay. Beautiful and peaceful. Neat, clean, well kept cottage. Super Staff and Management. Wish our stay was longer.” – Rigo Govoni, Port Elizabeth, April 2017

Baie lekker gekuier by baie spesiale mense in ‘n baie spesiale plek. Die bosstap was baie besonder en die kuier om die braaivleis vuur een groot plesier.” – Ina Bisschoff, Camps Bay, April 2017

“Serene and beautiful surroundings, allowing our daughter to imagine the fairies and enchanted life of Forest Edge. Splash pool, Hanzel & Gretel & the play car a superb hit. Everything exceeded our expectations.” – Grant, Lieke & Breena-Shae, Blouberg, April 2017

“Thanks for a magical stay, warm hospitality, very well stocked cottages and magnificent walks. An amazing retreat for the soul.” – Catherine Murison, Cape Town, April 2017

“This was our first visit at Forest Edge as a couple and it was a magical experience. As it was our honeymoon, it was extra special and we will definitely be returning again for our anniversary in the future. Everything was in tip top condition and taking a shower outside the cottage was sublime. Thank you very much Dries and Susan!” – Leon van der Linde, Bloemfontein, April 2017

“had a great time,every need was met. Remember to ask for the bon fire. Leaving with a big Smile.” – Camino Tours, Netherlands, April 2017

baie dankie weereens vir n wonderlike verblyf en die gasvryheid ons sal definitief weer terug wees in die peace of heaven!
Ns dankie vir die pakkie easter eggs aan die deur dit was baie spesiaal!” – Wanita Smit, Swellendam, April 2017

Our stay at Forest Edge was awesome. The cottage was very clean, the surroundings are lovely and peaceful. We would love to have done more walks and spent more time at Forest Edge. We will definitely be coming back..” – Cecile Nowers, Port Elizabeth, April 2017

“Die woonstelle is so oulik toegerus met alles wat nodig mag wees. Goed waaraan n mens nie eers dink nie, is daar. Dit was n heerlike week en ons het dit ongelooflik baie geniet. Ons sal beslis weer kom en langer bly, want hier is so baie om te doen 🙂” – Renaldo Von Waltzleben, Durbanville, April 2017

Second time here, and will definitely be back again!!! Great staff, great place, great getaway!!” – Zako Kruger, Port Elizabeth, April 2017

Absolutely wonderfull. The nearby walks in the Knysna forest is breathtaking” – Yolande Labuschagne, Pretoria, April 2017

“Forest Edge is an amazing place which will remain special to us! It is the most magnificent place for all nature lovers, especially those who love walking! Fairy Den has made our honeymoon that much more special. Excellent!” – Hennie Brand, Bellville, April 2017

“We enjoyed every minute of our 2-day stay at Forest Edge! (especially the outdoor shower) You are running this place in such a careful way – thank you!” – Benno Bakker, Netherlands, April 2017

“We found Forest Edge to be very serene and relaxing, with excellent access to the stunning Knysna Forest and within easy striking distance of other attractions in Knysna. We would highly recommend it.” – Liz Nicholas, MT Hawthorn, April 2017

“‘n Waarlike rusplek. So rustig. Sal dit oral aanbeveel.” – Drieka Boucher, Uitenhage, April 2017

“Absolute awesome and peaceful experience. Loved every moment of our stay. So much scenery and places to see in the area. Loved the nature and peaceful surroundings.” – Welda Helberg, Moregloed, March 2017

Excellent experience. Had a wonderful time!” – Marc Wilson, Germany, March 2017

What a beautiful little house! Thanks so much for this great stay. We’re really looking forward to our return here. Greetings from Germany” – Max & Christin, Germany, March 2017

“Wonderful, peaceful and beautiful place. What more can I say, just perfect! ” – Werner Otto, Marstetten, March 2017

Wonderful place. Beautiful scenery and place” – Tobie Crause, Cullinan, March 2017

Excellent!!!” – Greg Job, Vredenburg, March 2017

“Peaceful and serene setting, something for everyone in the family to enjoy. Great memories to take home with us.” – Philippa Boshoff, Welgemoed, March 2017

This is a really magical and peaceful place, a place to feed your soul and get away from the crazy hustle and bustle of the city. The cottages are super cozy and everything is catered for. We will definitely be back and recommend to anyone. Unfortunately, 2 nights were too short!” – Christo Greyling, Namibia, March 2017

“We spent two lovely nights at Forest Edge on our honeymoon and it was definitely a great choice! Highly recommended for a quiet, relaxing time. ” – Jacques Malan, Riversdal, March 2017

“Perfect getaway place that is very beautiful and well maintaned. Highly recommened to anyone looking for a forest getaway! ” – Keith Hamilton, Cape Town, March 2017

“Very comfortable accomodation in a lovely setting, enjoyed the Meditation centre and the local walks. An excellent break!  ” – C Harvey, United Kingdom, March 2017

“Thank you to the owners and staff, there is no better place to be when in Knysna. My experience has been phenominal every time I visit Forest Edge. I highly recommend for any one to visit them. It is a life changing experience. Again thank you Forest Edge! ” – Charl Roestroff, Randfontein, March 2017

This is a little slice of heaven! Could not have dreamed of a more perfect setting! The managers attention to detail is wonderful, did not miss one thing! Thank you! Can’t wait to visit again! ” – Lara Zeelie, Port Elizabeth, March 2017

“Very clean and neat. Cottage has everything you can think of from mosquito burner to soap in the shower. Loved staying at Fieldmouse, wish we could stay longer! ” – Melanie Wessels, Johannesburg, March 2017

“One of the most beautiful places on earth. Cottages immaculate. Scenery stunning. The whole experience was good for our souls. Thank you so much. We will definitely visit again.” – Jacqui Holmes, Port Elizabeth , March 2017

Happy memories of a blissfull stay” – Beth Pedersen, USA, March 2017

“Baie dankie vir die rustige en ontspannende paar daggies. Dit was heerlik! ” – Sandra McCabe, Graaff Reinet, March 2017

“Absolutely stunning – a wonderful retreat from the city” – Barry Hitchens, Sydney Australia, March 2017

“Serene, beautiful and well equiped. I fell in love with Forest Edge and highly recommend it. ” – Nadia De Villiers, Cape Town , February 2017

Forest Edge is an absolute gem. Beautiful setting, professionally managed, and magnificently restful. There is no doubt, we will be back. Thanks for a wonderful experience. ” – Greg King, Johannesburg, February 2017

“The best way to spend our honeymoon! Very clean and lots of attention to detail to make sure its a memorable and fun experience. Beautiful area! We’re definitely coming back!” – Shaun Coetsee, Plattekloof, February 2017

Very well organised establishment. Really enjoyed our stay. Would be hard to stay somewhere closer to nature. ” – Hein Gerber, Paarl , February 2017

Will definitely visit again. Thank you ” – Vanessa Jacobs, Western Cape, February 2017

Had a fantastic time!  – Pierre Pistorius, Port Elizabeth , February 2017

“Baie dankie vir die vriendelikheid en die stilte van die natuur. Ons het die donkies baie geniet en hulle lekker gevoer met appels. Wens ons kon nog so paar daggies gebly het. Dis ‘n plek wat ons altyd sal onthou en graag weer sal wil besoek” – “Mnr & Mev” Van Rooyen, Kaapstad, February 2017

What an exceptionally lovely spot – staff amazingly available, houses cosy – wonderful.” – Xanthe Hunt, Western Cape, February 2017

“Great place to get away from everything! Great staff and great atmosphere. Thank you! ” – Dane Lewis, Port Elizabeth , February 2017

“Presies wat ons verwag het dit sal wees. Rustig, pragtig en alles wat mens nodig het. Word ook goed bestuur, mooi tuine en alles is agter mekaar. Kan ook sien daar word moeite met die tuin gedoen en inheems geplant. ” – Wilhelm Lutjeharms, Somerset Wes, February 2017

Very comfortable cottages, peaceful surroundings. Great that there are noise restrictions in place. ” – Dave Kruger, Cape Town, February 2017

“We had an amzaing time, it is such a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. It has such a lovely atmosphere and everyone is so friendly. We will be back VERY soon. ” – Royce Griffin, Port Elizabeth, February 2017

“Best place ever to stay….will definitely recommend this to every person I know. Die eenheid is so mooi en volledig toegerus. Beter kan niemand voor vra nie. Voel gesang in die oggend wat jou begroet met vuurvliegies in die aand om nag te se.” – Ankia Pretoruis, Pretoria, February 2017

“A peaceful haven in a beautiful setting, yet close to Knysna and all its attractions. Wonderful bird watching opportunities and a lovely little outdoor meditation / yoga space. ” – Elaine Marchant, George, February 2017

“Thank you very much. We really enjoyed our stay. You have exceeded our expectations. The chalet was very clean, tidy and cosy.” – At & Elisbe Nel, Pretoria, February 2017

“What a sight to behold. Everything about Forest Edge is amazing. The history and surroundings. We loved every minute of it. We would not have wished to spend our honeymoon at any other place. We will be back!!!” – Mr & Mrs Fowler, Cape Town, February 2017

“What a wonderful slice of heaven! We so enjoyed our stay and will most definitely be back! The staff are so friendly, the cottages well maintained, the “feel” is so special. A home away from home.” – Karen Poole, Allensnek, February 2017

“If your goal is to have time to reconnect with friends and/or loved ones in a relaxed and tranquil atmosphere, then Forest Edge is the perfect destination. Perfect to be one with nature and make memories.” – Elmarie Kretsenger, Eastern Cape, February 2017

“Next time we’ll be back for a minimum of 5 days – this is truly a piece of heaven on earth.” – Heloise Ceronio, Midstream, February 2017

“Very nice cottages in the middle of the forest. very relax and chill.” – Matheus van Moerkerk, Netherlands, February 2017

“Dankie julle! Baie geniet!!” – Marisa Roelofse, Mosselbaai, February 2017

“This is a fantastic and peaceful place to recharge your batteries. Drupkelders hike is right next to Forest Edge and was well worth the effort to get to the waterfall and swimming pools.” – Glynnis Jackson, Johannesburg, February 2017

lovely remote place to rest and ponder your thoughts. it was a lovely place to welcome and say goodbye to family too x” – Vanessa Webster, United Kingdom, February 2017

“Great stay. We loved it all. We will only ever be staying here when we’re in the area – with or without the kids.” – Quintus van Jaarsveld, Cape Town, January 2017

“Thanks for a fantastic stay. Excellent all round, beautiful setting and people.” – Tony Sousalis, Chrismar, January 2017

“The tranquility of this site was heavenly for the soul.” – Henriette Pretorius, Secunda, January 2017

“We had a very nice stay. Tranquil, peaceful and relaxing after a day out. Close to various golf courses and Buffalo Bay with a beautiful beach and warm waters. We highly recommend this place!” – Louw Van Eeden, Cape Town, January 2017

“Excellent, will recommend to anyone to come and stay over. Slept restfully in clean linnen, house is kept very clean and kitchen is a pleasure to prepare food in. Will come back again.” – Marius Basson, Kraaifontein, January 2017

“Dankie dit was n lekker verblyf en van die begin af het ons vriendelike verwelkoming gekry. Baie dankie dit is rustig hier en baie veilig hier by Forest Edge.” – Ernest Kleinhans, Despatch, January 2017

“Had a wonderful time, enjoyed it very much. Beautiful settings” – Erica Van Schalkwyk, Humansdorp, January 2017

“Thanks for the Lovely Stay. Me and My Husband to be, feel so blessed. This trip and place is amazing! And of course, thanks for the lovely gifts, we will enjoy them. Keep this place the way it is, it’s SPECIAL! We felt really welcome, thanks a lot!” – Alexander & Esme, Netherlands, January 2017

“Fantastic experience. beautifull accomodation and very professional setup in a quiet, beautiful setting. Highly recommended!” – Divan Augustyn, Cape Town, January 2017

“Thank You for a truly wondeful stay. Forest Edge has been a taste of paradise, set in its tranquil forest gardens with the sounds of the birds and wildlife to keep us company 🙂 The cottage was perfect and our girls loved exploring and swinging in the hammock! A beautiful, peaceful location. We’ll be back :)” – Julia, Julius, Lucy & Chelsey Steyn, Aurora, January 2017

“We came here on our honeymoon – it was an absolutely superb destination. Staff were welcoming and hospitable, and cottages were immaculate. We will try to come back for anniversaries! The cottages are tucked away so you have absolute privacy, and the combination of wildlife, forest and beach activities are a perfect balance. Hugely recommended! ” – Samuel Biggs, Cape Town , January 2017

“This is a wonderful place. Very quaint and right next to the spectacular forest. We loved our honeymoon stay here!” – Nick Koning, East London, January 2017

“Wat ‘n salige week! ‘n Pragtige huisie met alles wat jy aan kon dink… Die gasvryheid van die personeel en goeie diens maak dat ons weer sal kom!” – Johan Viljoen, Brackenfell, January 2017

“Beautiful setting, very peaceful and relaxing.” – Khalid Chand, Johannesburg, January 2017

“Lekker stil en rustige omgewing om die batterye te laai. Huisie skoon en netjies met alles wat nodig is om lekker te kan bly.” – Otto & Marie Low, Centurion, January 2017

VERY RELAXING AND WILL DEFINITELY COME BACK” – Gunther Kapperer, Stellenbosch, January 2017

“Thanks for a lovely stay. Relaxing, quiet and peaceful.” – Rene & Andre Fourie, United Kingdom, January 2017

Loved the place, nice and peaceful.” – Melissa Petzer, Centurion, December 2016

“Een van die beste vakansies nog! Ongelooflike atmosfeer. en perfekte huisies: gesellig en baie skoon.” – Alida Louw, Potchefstroom, December 2016

“had a wonderful stay – would highly recommend this to everyone who needs a nice rest and also lot of adventure.” – Marietha Auret, Bellville, December 2016

awesome experience, would love to stay here again soon.” – Mabusang Mothata, Bloemfontein, December 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful stay once again. We will be back! ” – Magda Roets, Strand, December 2016

“We had a wonderful stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent cleaning service. Our stay was fantastic ” – Carmel Mclaren, Roodepoort , December 2016

“Thanks for a great stay and to Dries and Suzanne for being great hosts” – Steve Faure, Cape Town, December 2016

Once again we found peace in this hide-away-gem for the soul. It’s here in the stillness of the forest where you can really unwind – find yourself again. Where you can play with butterflies and bunnies and still hear the call of the Piet-My-Vrou and the Loerie high above you in the majestic treetops. It’s here where if you listen “inwards” you can hear the laughter of fairies. This place is very deeply settled in my heart. Sad to leave again after coming to pick up a piece of me which I left behind last year – knowing that I’ve left behind another piece of me. But also knowing that once again this is not farewell, but till we meet again.” – Marieke Van Staden, Port Elizabeth, December 2016

Peaceful and very comfortable, we loved the (optional) outdoor shower, the birds and bunnies and all the info on what to do in the area. Consider whether possible to re-arrange any of the interior furniture (just a little cramped in the double bedroom but really nothing serious). Perhaps provide even more info in the cottages for us birders – we left our birdbook behind – possibly a birdbook to borrow available at reception? ” – Sarah Charlton, Johannesburg, December 2016

“Absolutely amazing. This is the place to rest and recharge. We will be back soonest.” – Ansie Opperman, Cape Town, December 2016

“we will be back. this was comfortable and peaceful ” – Cobus Cronje, Vermont, December 2016

“We really enjoyed our stay, thank you for your hospitality! ” – Elizabeth Barnard, Durbanville , December 2016

“We are mature travelers and we were treated like royalty. We had an excellent stay and would highly recommend Forest Edge to anyone. We will be back! ” – Fienie De Klerk, Hermanus, December 2016

“Dankie vir ‘n heerlike en ontspanne tyd. Hierdie is die perfekte plek vanwaar ‘n mens die woud kan verken en terugkom na ‘n warm en gemaklike plek om te rus en te ontspan. Almal in die span doen uitstekende werk.” – Willem Swart, Ventersdorp, December 2016

“Very peaceful, wonderful experience. Lovely cottages, very clean and well maintained.” – Waldo Swanepoel, Port Elizabeth, December 2016

“endroit charmant excellent chalet confortable et sympa ideal pour repos or Charming place, excellent, comfortable and nice chalet ideal for rest” – Marianne Gabbud, Switzerland, December 2016

“What a wonderful, relaxing, peaceful space this is. We have enjoyed the quiet, the bird song and the local walks in the reserve. Our stay has been met with warm friendly smiles. 5* Thank you so much.” – Tina & Allan, Norfolk UK, November 2016

Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!” – Robbert Bibbey, UK, November 2016

“We had a wonderful time here and it exceeded our expectations. Love the peaceful and tranquil settings. We will definitely be back.” – Gary & Louise Ward, PE, November 2016

“Booking and stay was excellent, absolutely recommended!” – Helma Jensen, Brackenfell, November 2016

“It was our third time here, as always an excellent experience. Very sad to leave this beautiful place but will definitely be back! Thanks for the lovely hospitality!” – The Benade Brothers, Upington, November 2016

“Closest to the forest, in a flowering garden full of forest birds, we varied hike from our doorstep into the rock pools of the ancient forest with relaxing on our veranda looking out on the froggy pond. ” – Scott Carroll, USA, November 2016

“Tranquility and everything one needs in a heavenly spot. Memorable visit and will be back” – The Grobblers, Cape Town, November 2016

“this is by far one of the best self catering places I have ever stayed at. I will now and always be a customer for life” – Tracy Wills Cape Town, November 2016

Fantastic stay, the peace and quiet does wonders to the soul” – Envar Saaiman, Cape Town, November 2016

most excellent place. coming back soon” – Lukas de Kock, Pretoria, November 2016

Very good service and an excellent getaway.” – Danny Swanepoel, Port Elizabeth, November 2016

An overall excellent experience!!! Awesome accommodation, great hospitality and privacy at it’s best. We would recommend Forest Edge to anyone, any day!!!” – Natasja Slabbert, Rooihuiskraal, November 2016

“Vreeslik baie dankie vir ‘n onvergeetlike wegbreekkans by julle ongelooflike instansie. Ons sal die ervaring en herhinneringe vir altyd by ons dra. Die moeite wat julle gemaak het hier is gelykstaande aan die wat ons al by 5-ster hotelle ervaar het. Well done!” – Karla & Reinhardt Hoogendijk, Parow, November 2016

“We had the most wonderful, relaxing stay. What a pleasant surprise to see how well equipped and clean the chalet was. Management are lovely people. We will most certainly be visiting again soon. Thank you for everything.” – YOLANDI DE LANGE, PE, November 2016

“Baie dankie vir ‘n vreeslike aangename vakansie. Julle het ‘n wonderlike plek hier verrig, en julle moeite om dit so te behou gaan nie unnoticed nie. Fairy Den het my siel tot ruste gebring in ‘n manier wat ek nie gewoond is nie; so ek stap hier uit as ‘n nuwe mens!” – Janine Maree, Johannesburg, November 2016

“we had an amazing time at forest edge. we will definitely recommend this place to our family and friends!! Thank you” – Robb Connolly, Cape Town, November 2016

“Forest Edge is a lovely space to disconnect and experience the silence of forest life. ” – Garrett Loubser, Cape Town, November 2016

“If I owned Forest Edge, I would not change anything. Forest Edge is truly one of the most fantastic brake away resorts.” – Nazeedah Hanekom, Cape Town, October 2016

Idylic venue, peaceful setting and extremely child friendly.” – Elzaan Mitchell, Somerset West, October 2016

“very friendly people, very nice cabins. for the nature lovers and peace and rest for your soul! ” – Corne Van der Merwe, Sunland, October 2016

Very Soothing and calming environment. Great for family and relaxing time.” – Natasha Bell, Cape Town, October 2016

“Awesome stay. So peaceful and beautiful. Will definitely see us in the future. Make sure to visit this place SOON!!!” – Wayne Duvenage, Benoni, October 2016

“Baie dankie vir die huisie. Ons het goed gerus, en sal beslis weer kom, in die lae seisoen. Die stilte was wat ons nodig gehad het. Julle bemarking is goed en deeglik.” – Pieter Maritz, Stellenbosch, October 2016

“Baie danie vir ‘n wonderlike tydtjie hier by julle, gasvryheid is WOW! Dankie vir al die moeite wat julle doen en vir al die klein bederfies, dit laat mens SPESIAAL voel 🙂 Ons sal enige tyd weer kom kuier.” – Marelize & Oswaldt, George, October 2016

“This was a lovely stay. We will definitely be back. It was just what we needed. Thank you for a great stay and awesome service.” – Ashley Dreyden Worcester , October 2016

Beautiful surroundings and great accommodation” – Kim Bruil, Nederland, October 2016

“We had a very nice stay. The children enjoyed the environment and the nature was superb! We will come back soon….” – Marinette Joubert, Prince Albert, October 2016

“We were surprised by the quality of the cottage. Very good. Nice settings. Beautiful garden.” – Dr Jean-Luc Bazire, Mauritius, October 2016

“Fantastic, Fantastic – very peacefull, just too short….. ” – Werner Myburgh, Randburg, October 2016

“We had a fantastic time at Forest Edge. I wish we could stay longer. What a beautiful and tranquil retreat! We loved your warm hospitality and your attention to detail. Really refreshing. Keep doing what you doing!” – Elridge Edwards, Wynberg, October 2016

“Very relaxing, close to nature. Had an awesome time. Thanks for the friendly hospitality.” – Lara Callaghan, Cape Town, October 2016

“It was an absolute stunning cabin to stay in. Beautiful surroundings and excellent service 🙂 .” – Doreen Kruger, Malmesbury, October 2016

Everything was just perfect.” – Joe Geldenhuys, George, October 2016

“Wat ‘n oulike mooi plek. Dankie vir julle ekstra moeite met die champagne. Ons het baie lekker gerus, gestap, en gebraai. Die buite stort is ‘n wenner.” – Die Folschers, Jeffreysbaai, October 2016

“A tranquil escape surrounded by an exquisite indigenous forest. What more can one ask. Lovely accommodation. Loved our stay. Thank you ” – Isabelle Michez, Hermanus, October 2016

“Forest Edge is the most beautiful & romantic place. We had a wonderful stay over here. Baie dankie vir julle gasvryheid en vriendelikheid” – Andre Swart, Hartenbos, October 2016

“Wow!! Absoluut ‘n mooie plekkie. Die rustigheid en skoonheid is iets ongelooflik. Dankie vir julle gasvryheid. #honeymoonvibes!!” – “Mnr & Mev” Snyman, PE, October 2016

Excellent experience, will be back again and highly recommend it to all! A nature lovers dream… ” – Dereck Sigamoney, Claremont, October 2016

“This is a little piece of heaven on earth. Stunning!” – Anette Wilken, Port Elizabeth, September 2016

“Very good experience & value for money” – Lynette Cilliers, Vanderbijlpark, September 2016

“Ons kuier was net te kort en sal volgende keer beslis langer wees. Dankie vir ‘n wonderlike, vriendelike en onvergeetlike ondervinding!” – Bernhard Pretorius, Jeffreysbay, September 2016

Wonderful and peaceful stay. Very comfortable. Well worth a relaxing stay! ” – Shannon Moore-Barnes, Port Elizabeth, September 2016

“Thank you so much for the friendly greetings on our arrival, the hospitality and the beautiful cottage. You really do go out of your way to make your guests feel at home. The stay was amazing. Even on the rainy days. We will be back.” – Marlene Mulvey, Port Elizabeth, September 2016

“This was definitely recommended for anyone just wanting to get away and to refresh!! Excellent” – Roger Wessels, George, September 2016

“What a lovely place to relax and experience nature. Highly commended.” – Levina Vermeulen, Vanderbijlpark, September 2016

“What a great place, top accommodation and very friendly hosts. Will definitely be back.” – Norman Payne, Gauteng, September 2016

“Wat anders kan ‘n mense se as Hemel op aarde. Julle was reg, die bos en verblyf kruip diep in jou hart in. Dankie vir die bederf, dit was baie spesiaal en word opreg waardeer. Dis met ‘n vol hart en tevrede siel wat ons vandag groet, maar sien julle weer.” – Willie & Hester Bezuidenhout, Uitenhage, September 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful four nights. So relaxing and in such a beautiful setting. Loved all the new little surprises (picnic baskets ect). We will be back.” – Tamzin-Jade Jacobs, Pinelands, September 2016

“What a piece of heaven. Well kept place and such a friendly management couple. Will be back.” – Corne Lutzkie, Vanderbijlpark, September 2016

“Enjoyed every minute of our stay loved all the attention to detail in the cottage.” – Gerda Papendorf, Stilbaai, September 2016

“What a beautiful place!! Thank you for making me feel so special and welcome. I will recommend your establishment 100% The silence is golden.” – Tonia Schofield, Knysna, August 2016

“Beautiful place, loved every minute. Superbly managed.” – Alex Nurse, Knysna, August 2016

“everything was excellent and this place will be recommended to family and friends. please dont change anything here.” – Madelaine Cockrell, Hartenbos, August 2016

“A wonderful setting, relaxing and restful. Very well maintained cottages.” – Michelle Schofield, George, August 2016

“Forest Edge is really a nature lovers paradise and the area is full of wonderful SA history. We will come again.” – Tersia Strydom, Cape Town, August 2016

“We had an amazing time. Everything was just beautiful and I am still awed by the warm welcome from Susan, Amanda and Danie. Everything so proffessional. Thank you!” – Lorna Mketo, Parklands, August 2016

Really fantastic venue with super friendly and helpful management and staff.” – Marthinus Pagel, Robertson, August 2016

“Knus en snoesig! Besonder beindruk met wat julle hier vermag het en die wonderlike geleentheid om vir ‘n paar dae hierdie paradys met julle te kon deel.” – Christina Jansen van Rensburg, Mosselbaai, August 2016

“Watter ongelooflikke ervaring! Die rustigheid en absolute stilte met net die natuurgeluide. Dankie vir die verassingspakkie. Hierdie tipe gebaar maak julle uitstaan bo alle ander plekke. Dankie vir die spesiale aandag aan ons behoeftes sonder dat ons daarvoor gevra het of daaraan gedink het. Julle sien ons beslis weer.” – Die Germann Familie, Mosselbaai, August 2016

“A lovely stay at Forest Edge. We wish we could have stayed longer. Great for children.” – Talita Guizot, Klapmuts, August 2016

“We recommend Forest Edge if you want to have an untouched space in your heart touched in the most peaceful of ways. Astounding tranquility! We will definitely be back! Many thanks to the Management and the team!” – Marc Smit, England, August 2016

“Very peaceful and relaxing accommodation. Wonderful venue for children to enjoy as well.” – Nicole Burger, Cape Town, August 2016

“Absolutely loved our stay at Fairy Den. It was private, relaxing and the little touches from our hosts made it extra special.” – Lorna & John, Cape Town, August 2016

“Wow! Als was perfek in die huisie. Ek kan werklik se dat ek geen fout kon vind nie. Dankie vir die mandtjie met “goodies” Groete en sien weer!” – Owen & Hanlie Spalding, Durbanville, August 2016

“Very sweet, cosy & peaceful cottage. Absolutely love this area and look forward to coming back to explore more in the warmer seasons.” – The Shooter Family, Cape St Francis, August 2016

“An absolutely beautiful cottage, excellent value for money and stunning surrounds.” – Jaclyn Neff, Cape Town, August 2016

“Nice place, nice people, fantastic moment of holiday here.” – Valentin Lhoste, France, August 2016

“The most amazing place to have a fantastic holiday. All the birds, sounds of froggies absolutely lovely. Thank you Danie, Dries & Susan!” – Mike Mirtyn, Nelspruit, August 2016

“Highly recommended, a home from home!” – Colin & Ros Schmidt, July 2016

“I needed to find a place to clear my mind – I am leaving with my mind, heart and soul at peace – baie dankie dit was waarlik wonderlik.” – Ina Bisschoff, Cape Town, July 2016

“Don’t believe in too good to be true? Then this is the place to have your mind changed. You get more than advertised, right from the word welcome by Dries and Susan. And then follows the charming views and beautiful, well maintained and practical houses with a stoep, right on the edge of the forest. Be sure to keep an eye out for the Hummingbirds!” – Ian Swanepoel, Pretoria, July 2016

“What a fantastic breakaway! It was a great way to spend family time together in nature with great hospitality and service. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to rejuvenate and break away from it all. Thank you!” – Liza Wilmot, Lovemore Heights, July 2016

“Very beautiful and welcoming place. Definitely recommendable to anyone.” – Laurentius vandenWorm, Stellenbosch , July 2016

“Very good place and we had a good time here. Will come again and its peace full here.” – Lana Kleynhans, Cape Town, July 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful stay! Our hearts are heavy to leave, but you look forward to our next stay in the future.” – Benette Greeff, Vredendal, July 2016

“What a great place! We felt spoilt, being campers. The nearness of the forest made it extra special. The hammock was great! We would love to come back.” – Helette Norval, Somerset West, July 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful stay, clean and friendly and very efficient in all facilities. What a wonderful gesture of the market basket, with fresh flowers and veg and fruit, wow!” – Adriaan Mostert, Big Bay, July 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful, relaxing and quiet time. We really enjoyed it.” – Neil Boonzaier, Cape Town, July 2016

“We felt extremely welcone here and especially the working staff were amazing! You really have a winning team here, well done to all!” – Willem Van Riet, June 2016

“Your part in organising and celebrating a wedding in about 48 hours is GREATLY appreciated. Forest Edge will remain forever in our memory as the place where we started our married life… and a place we hope to return to soon, so that we may really enjoy the facilities, as organising a wedding in such a short time meant we could not enjoy Forest Edge as much as we had hoped! Nothing could have been more perfect.” – Beth Louw and Dave Pedersen, Fisherhaven, June 2016

Good for kids and good place to get away from work. All good, keep up the good work.” – Elanie Scheepers, Klein-Brakrivier, June 2016

“Superb. What an amazing place. As parents with toddlers, one always hopes that you’ve made a good choice for kid friendly accommodation. This place rocks, and ticks all the boxes. The Jubilee forest walk close by is a family must, and so is lunch at Totties. We’ll definitely be back. Thanks a mill.” – Charl van der Merwe, Milnerton, June 2016

“A very peaceful and enjoyable stay. Thank you.” – Caroline Fitzgerald, Montagu, June 2016

“We really had an amazing time here. The accommodation was absolutely wonderful and the staff friendly and helpful. We will definitely recommend this place to everyone. Thank you. ” – Barry Sandler, June 2016

“Wonderful restful stay, thank you.” – Shirley Mugglestone, Little Brak, June 2016

“This place is absolutely stunning. The best place you could ever hide away from all the city life, with your partner. Best value for money.” – Alexander Kagerer, Cape Town, June 2016

“A fantastic place to come and relax. Close to all interesting places. Loved the donkeys. Will be back.” – Amanda Baldie, Port Elizabeth, June 2016

“What a beautiful, tranquil place. Highly recommended for couples and families. Cosy fires and effortless relaxation… Please expect us back soon! A wonderful weekend away, the cottage was awesome. We will bring our friends and family to come and experience this tranquil, humble part of our country.  I’d change nothing – Pure Perfection!” – Tarryn Meiring, Port Elizabeth, May 2016

“What an amazing experience! We will definitely be back for an extended stay.” – Siggy Heuer, Windhoek, Namibia, May 2016

“Baie dankie, dit was n heerlike kuiertjie. Grootouers en al die kleinkinders versprei oor 3 huisies. Dankie vir bestuur se hulpvaardigheid. Twee keer Drupkelders toe gestap in 4 dae. Sal sekerlik weer n draai maak om ou memories te verfris. Weer eens baie dankie.” – Kobus en Ansie Meyer, Saldanha (rest of family from Otjiwarongo, Cape Town, Despatch), May 2016

“Thanks for the stay, very quiet and comfy.” – Greg Simpson, Cape Town, May 2016

“Such a pleasure to arrive at such a quaint little cottage in the midst of such beauty. So clean and smelling so fresh. Forest Edge is just such a special place – a ‘hidden gem‘, a little ‘piece of heaven‘, full of peace and serenity. Such a blessing to be part of God’s beautiful creation. We felt so at peace, hearing the croaking frogs at night and the chirping birds in the morning. Totties’ breakfast food is excellent, so is the service. Thanks to management for your welcome and excellent service! We loved our time here! Will be back soon to do the nature walks!” – Zelda Plank, Somerset West, May 2016

“Many thanks to the caring team at Forest Edge, we had a wonderful 2-week holiday. We were using this precious time for me to write my book and for hubby to type it up. Where else would we have found the peace and tranquility that Forest Edge provides? Our prayers are that this awesome, peaceful GEM will continue to allow each and every visitor here to leave feeling rejuvenated. As we leave today, some tears will be left on the grass to bring abundance and joy to Forest Edge.” – Jurie and Rita Pieterse, Midrand, May 2016

An awesome place, an awesome time! It was an incredible visit. I can definitely recommend Forest Edge. If you love nature, you will love it! Its perfect.” – Debbie Higgs, Johannesburg, May 2016

“Dear Forest Edge team. Our stay was the perfect “babymoon” destination. The peace and quiet is so calming and relaxing. The cottages offer everything one might need and more, and were incredibly cosy. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Thank you for your amazing hospitality. We truly love it here and hope to be back with the little one.” – Graham and Geri Saunders, Cape Town, May 2016

“As usual my stay here was truly magical.” – Greg Forster, Knysna, May 2016

Everything is asolutely perfect!” – Cindy Guercio, Cape Town, May 2016

TOO SHORT IN THIS MAGICAL PLACE.” – Garth, May 2016

“Thank you for allowing us in your paradise. We were treated like royalty and enjoyed every minute of staying in this peaceful place. Batteries recharged. Keep it as it is!!!” – Maryke Coetzer Hilton, April 2016

“Baie dankie vir n heerlike wegbreek. Was n fantastiese 2 dae! Sien julle weer. We had a fantastic time. Great MTB routes, beautiful walks in the nearby forest and coming back to a clean, neat cottage for a good night’s rest.” – Johan en Stephanie Stoffberg, Stellenbosch, April 2016

Very nice and comfortable cottage. Great setting!” – Richard Kaplan, Cape Town, April 2016

“We had a group of 10, all of whom thoroughly enjoyed the stay and enthused about everything in the chalets. You will find that several will be returning with their families. Thank you for a wonderful experience.” – Anthony Hooper, Hermanus, April 2016

“Thank you, we enjoyed our stay, the peacefulness, the gardens and the birds. A lovely place for a group of friends to get together. Very convenient for the forest walks which we loved.” – The Hazells, April 2016

Superb 3 days. The accommodation is perfect and the environs fantastic. ” – The Steins, April 2016

Absolute peace and tranquility. We loved being left alone to do as we wanted. Slept late, walked in the forest and made lekker kos. Just a perfect hideaway for some good R&R. Welcoming and enchanting. We could have stayed another 3 weeks! Shall give this cottage 5 stars. Highly recommended.” – Jacques and Sam Rogers, Red Tin Roof – Riebeeck Kasteel, April 2016

“We had a fantastic stay here at Forest Edge. It’s in a beautiful setting and everything seemed to have been considered in relation to our comfort.” – Nicholas Mead, London, UK, April 2016

“Well done for keeping the garden and grounds so clean. Thanks for making our stay so wonderful. We will definitely be back.” – Sarel Kleynhans, Somerset West, April 2016

“Thanks for making our honeymoon an incredible and unforgettable experience. We will definitely come back again! We really enjoyed our stay, was an awesome week.” – Jeremy de Reuck, Pretoria, April 2016

A lovely relaxed stay! Cottage is very comfortable and had everything we needed. Relax is hard for both of us to do, as we don’t know the word, running our own guest house. Braai and breakfast packs – perfect – thank you. Lovely staff!” – Nina and Derek Poole, April 2016

“Thanks for a great stay. Lovely peaceful place. Will certainly keep it in mind for future stays in South Africa.” – Lovetts and Kendals, UK, April 2016

Excellent facilities in cottage and beautiful surroundings. Such a lovely landscape with an extremely well appointed cabin – so cosy! We did the Drupkelders ‘walk’ – very scenic and also very steep! Espresso is so sweet and we loved the swings and were fighting over the hammock. Thanks for a beautiful stay – with some fine instructions – Lighten up on rules and trust your guests to be responsible… ” – Caitlin, Sara and Julia Janssens, Rondebosch, April 2016
Management responds: we wish we could! You will be amazed what some guests get up to.  Rules are sadly necessary for the protection of Forest Edge and the 99% of responsible guests such as yourself : – )

“Forest Edge is a well maintained professional retreat. Close to some of the most beautiful hikes in Knysna. We will be returning. Excellent cleanliness and grounds stunning, paradise! Enjoyed our stay. Loved the tranquil environment and the accommodation was great. Rest, relax, revitalize, regenerate, radiate.” – Clinton Clark, Somerset West, March 2016

“Was great to be back again as always – a great stay. Gardens are just beautiful and I so enjoyed the fresh herbs all over the garden. Michael’s favourite part, as always, was to feed Hansel and Gretel some carrots.” – Delana Green, Somerset West, March 2016

“We have never experienced tranquility like this. It was an absolutely amazing experience. The children loved it.” – Nicola de Jager, Port Elizabeth, March 2016

What a relaxing stay… an awesome experience. Leave everything as it is : )” – Conraad Booyens, Nelspruit, March 2016

“Enjoyed the permaculture garden, Joseph is a gem!” – Louis van Zyl, Klerksdorp, March 2016

“A wonderful experience, very friendly management. Relaxing stay. Very quiet area which enhances the forest feeling. ” – Jacques du Plessis, Boksburg, March 2016

Excellent stay. Enjoyed the peace and overall ambiance.” – Sebastian Ova, Chatsworth, March 2016

“Dankie dat julle die geyser fout so vinnig identifiseer en reggemaak het.” – Andre Pieterse, Stellenbosch, March 2016

Beautiful surroundings, peaceful, interesting facts about area. Owner and management very professional. Will visit again.” – Estelle Minnaar, Welgemoed, March 2016

“Very peaceful surroundings. Excellent hospitality.” – Melinda Greeff, Strand, March 2016

“Absolutely an amazing, peaceful and tranquil accommodation. Such a lovely time with my beautiful wife. Couldn’t ask for a better place to honeymoon! Felt right at home, don’t want to leave! Espresso is the best cat ever. Will definitely be back.” – Mel and Jono Hol, Sandton, March 2016

Goed versorgde plekkie. Baie lekker gebly. Die bestuur is baie hulpvaardig en vriendelik.” – Michiel Buys, Pretoria, March 2016

“What a gem of a venue! So glad we found this beautiful spot! A re-charge for mind, body and soul. We will definitely be back soon.” – Larry Ripsold, Milnerton, March 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful stay. The cottage and grounds are beautiful. We wish we could have stayed longer.” – Micaela Bascand, Sudan, March 2016

We had so much fun and the facilities are excellent. Our stay here was fantastic, so much to do and see. We definitely want to return.” – Kylie and David Sage, Pretoria, March 2016

“Thank you so much for your incredible hospitality. You couldn’t have been more willing or accommodating. It’s a MASSIVE shame we aren’t stying longer. I may have even learnt how to light a braai! Would have loved to see more of the Forest and all it has to show, maybe next time. Had a wonderful hike, swam in waterfall, lunch on Knysna Head – bliss!!! PS – the stars at night – WOW!” – Kath and Samuel Scott, London, UK, March 2016

“Such a peaceful and lovely spot, we love it! Lovely stay, will definitely be back. Lots of history to this area of the woodcutters, and an old gold mine. Forest is too stunning.” – Martin and Belinda Cary, Cape Town, March 2016

“Die omgewing is lieflik. Om in die tuin te sit en eet is al op sy eie n heerlike ervaring, die aande met sy sterreprag is onvergeetlik, die stap deur die bos is n avontuur. Dis pragtig! Ons het baie van die cabin gehou – cosy and luxe. Alles wat n mens nodig het om die lewe vergemaklik en plesierig te maak. Ons het n lieflike vuurtjie in die haard gemaak in die reen; met die heerlike gemakstoele en n glasie wyn was dit ontspanning uit die boonste rakke. Die Drupkelder roete het dit nog ook n smaak van avontuur gegee. Just keep it like it is.” – Anton Snyman, Middelburg, March 2016

Lovely place… cut off from city life… unique experience.” – Ranveer Singh, Cape Town, March 2016

Service excellent, friendly staff. Clean = 5*star. Peace and quietness. Thank you!” – Laurette and Paul Hanekom, Hartbeespoortdam, March 2016

“It was very relaxing to stay and easy to get to and around. Management very helpful.” – Blossum Gilmour, Papau Nieu-guinea, March 2016

“We’d recommend Forest Edge as Excellent.” – Marion Otten, Germany, March 2016

“What a relaxing few days! Loved the cabin and the two donkeys. Staff is very friendly. Would definitely recommend Forest Edge for young and old! Love everything as it is.” – Zani de Beer, Yzerfontein, March 2016

Very Good. Surely recommended. Very nice and quiet place, also suitable for children.” – Anna Walsted, Denmark, March 2016

“Baie dankie vir great diens, en n mooi skoon plek om in te bly. Ons sal julle weer sien!” – Anlo Joubert, Fochville, March 2016

Pragtige plek, baie rustig. Dankie dat ons hier kon oorbly.” – Adri en Paul Els, Pretoria, March 2016

“Ons het wonderlik gerus en die stilte en wonderlike natuur geniet. Sal graag n heerlike gemaklike stoel op stoep wou he om die pragtige natuur te ervaar. Baie dankies vir n ontspanne paar dae. Hou dit net soos dit is, vir die natuurliefhebber.” – Jan Rademan, Hartenbos, March 2016

Enjoyed my weekend.” – Michael Meyer, Mosselbay, March 2016

A place I would definitely recommend. There are so many activities and beautiful hikes in the area. Very good website.” – Christo van Tubbergh, Strand, February 2016

“Was overwhelmed; recommend definitely. Thanks for the warm welcome.. Dankie vir hierdie Godswonder wat jy in die heerlike plekkie omskep het om te kan bewonder; net weg te kom van die geraas, die natuur te kan geniet en met al sy wonderlike geluide weer te kan waardeer. Sal definitief weer terugkom om onsself te verloor in hierdie wonderlike natuurskoon.” – Karin en Ettienne Louw, Klerksdorp, February 2016

Loved the outdoor shower! Beautiful place! The gardens are beautiful and the hike to Drupkelders is great and worth the effort. Value for money is 200%.” – Angela van de Rijt, Qatar, February 2016

“Thank you for sharing your beautiful Forest Edge with us – may it always be such a beautiful place. Amazing bike rides in the forest. Great stay thanks. Keep it up.” – Jenny and Mike Smart, Cape Town, February 2016

“We loved our stay a lot. Thank you for this place!” – Nicole Bonani, Switzerland, February 2016

Management was very helpful, helped with bookings and good advice on local activities. Excellent location, very close to the park, easy entry.” – Anne Lilly, Baltimore, USA, February 2016

“Perfect for a tranquil stay. Peace and quiet is guaranteed, the only common sounds being the chirping of birds and the odd baboon call :-)” – Claudio Leng, Cape Town, February 2016

Place is perfect – 100%. It’s our 4th time; we will be back. We absolutely love this place.” – Rob du Brey, Port Elizabeth, February 2016

“A wonderful place to stay. Very sad to be leaving. What a perfect, peaceful oasis, ideal for exploring! We loved every second of our stay here. We really are sad to be going. A home away from home (lovely little touches)! We will miss the cosy cabin, waking up to the birds singing, relaxing in the hammock and finishing the day off with a nice braai and a beautiful sunset in the distance. We wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else!” – Michelle Hammond, England, February 2016

“Our wonderful 1st anniversary. Next time we’ll stay longer.” – Vincent Fourie, Somerset West, February 2016

“Fantastic place, very relaxing. Our two small children had a great time playing here.” – Ann-Marie Fowler, Cape Town, February 2016

Excellent!” – Roy Kretzen, Stilbaai, February 2016

“A perfect retreat to reconnect and embrace the wonders and mystical powers and wisdom of nature. I left more inspired then ever to ‘conserve’. Forest Edge is humbling, beautiful and peaceful. I’m already looking forward to my next visit.” – Greg Forster, Cape Town, January 2016

“We enjoyed our stay. Peaceful surroundings.” – Jan-Francois Cilliers, January 2016

“We had the perfect honeymoon at Forest Edge and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and awesome hospitality. I wouldn’t change a thing.  This place is extraordinary and it was a real pleasure staying here.” – Kurt Fredericks, Cape Town, January 2016

An amazing experience and a great stay for our honeymoon. The ambiance definitely appeals to all nature-lovers and I highly recommend Forest Edge to anyone looking for a peaceful nature retreat!” – Tara Gold, Pretoria, January 2016

“Thank you so much for an unforgettable stay. Awesome memories made!” – Linkey Jones, Mosselbay, January 2016

“Quaint, secluded, wrapped in the Forest; get away from all the hustle and bustle, a real yesteryear experience with all the modern facilities.” – Marietjie Gelderblom, January 2016

Anyone that has not been to Forest Edge, has not lived yet. The most beautiful tranquil place. Professional and efficient. Grounds and gardens immaculate. An EXCEPTIONAL experience and definitely Value for Money.” – Lenette Morris, Cape Town, January 2016

A relaxing and enjoyable stay. Wonderful to experience a different part of Knysna. We loved exploring the Forest and beautiful Jubilee Creek. Very friendly and inviting host. Thank you.” – Sophie Enefer, New Zealand, January 2016

“Great week in this beautiful place and surroundings. We had a truly amazing stay at Forest Edge, fantastic family time in this peaceful place. Friendly, welcoming and efficient. Value for money is Truly Excellent.” – Samuel Desprets, Sandton, January 2016

A wonderful stay in a perfect location. The cottage was well appointed and the activities around were great! Wouldn’t change a thing.” – Ken and Healey McGlashan, USA, January 2016

“We will be back, but for longer. Too much to do in a weekend. Dit was n amazing ondervinding – ons gaan definitief weer terugkom vir nog n lekker wegbreek. Dankie aan die personeel wat die tydjie ekstra spesiaal gemaak het. Die donkies is ook baie oulik!” – Michelle, Ane en Deon van der Mescht, Port Elizabeth, January 2016

Another fabulous week in paradise. Time to re-connect as a family; with each other and without tech stealing our time. We are totally relaxed. Our girls have played, drawn, brushed and fed the donkeys, looked for frogs and so much more. Thanks and we will be back. ” – Chrissie, Pip, Ana and Andrew Aldridge, UK, January 2016

“What an EPIC experience!! Thank you! Julle het gesorg dat ons wittebrood n onvergeetlike ondervinding was. Julle aandag aan die details, die uitleg van die huisie, die stilte in die bos. Mal oor die meditasie-hoekie en die Boere-Braai! Ek skryf met n swaar hart want more moet ons die pad vat huis toe. Ek sal Forest Edge aan enige iemand aanbeveel en as alles goed gaan sal ons weer terugkom. Dankie vir die vriendelikheid, warmte en behulpsaamheid. Die boeke en hangmat is AWESOME!!!” – Debbie en Dewald Cloete, Durban, January 2016

“Wonderful experience overall! Thank you for a lovely stay, especially for being super friendly and informative!” – Michaela and Bryn Divey, Cape Town, January 2016

Wonderful experience.” – Timothy Williams, Port Elizabeth, January 2016

“Vakansie was baie lekker. Forest Edge is awesome. Sien gou weer.” – Wayne Hawkins, Cape Town, January 2016

“Thanks for a spectacular time. Your hospitality was heartwarming and made us feel very at home. Forest Edge is the perfect holiday destination to unwind and recharge for new beginnings. Your kindness to the girls will always be remembered. We had a wonderful time at Forest Edge. ” – Danielle Manuel, Pinelands, January 2016

“We had a great time. Accommodation was clean and comfortable. Great relaxing atmosphere.” – Greg Reilly, January 2016

What a lovely place. Friendliest staff on the planet. A little gem this place is. Highly recommend it to absolutely everyone I know.” – Kirsten O’Connor, Cape Town, January 2016

“Absolutely everything about our stay was super. Luke and Ethan enjoyed feeding Hansel and Gretel every day (Hansel loves blue berries!) Your groundsman was an absolute star and the boys kept him busy. The outside shower is a real treat. Stargazing, shooting stars. Drupkelders a must. Daily visits to Buffalo Bay beach. Cycling in the forests. We loved our stay and will be back.” – Zelda Randall, Sunset Beach, January 2016

Stunning, stunning place. What a wonderful experience. A more peaceful and tranquil experience one could not find. Wonderful place for the children. You never see them. Thank you for all your hospitality and great times. A really stunning retreat. This has been everything we were looking for and more. We wanted a forest experience and a peaceful, quiet and relaxing time – we sure got that. The beauty and surroundings were spectacular. The fact that the kids could run and be safe and have so much fun is amazing. You really have a piece of heaven here. It was truly magical.” – Debbie Cordeiro, Durbanville, January 2016

Excellent stay, we loved the out-door experience.” – Christina Schaffner, Johannesburg, December 2015

“An out of this world experience. Thank you to the team. I would not change anything and I have worked in the hospitality industry for over 20 years. The mountain biking was incredible. The experience was exactly what we were looking for.” – Madeleine and Roy Broodryk, Mzikilodge, Limpopo, December 2015

“Awesome stay, loads of activities in the area, very clean, neat and safe.” – Jaco Nieman, December 2015

“Our stay here has been magical. We leave our footprints and a piece of our hearts here in the bush knowing that we leave here more at peace. Nature has been good to us. This is not farewell but till we meet again. Die tyd gaan so gou verby – die Tyd gaan so bitter-gou verby…

  • 7 ongelooflike dae
  • Wonderskoon Natuur
  • Kinderspel sonder vrees
  • Padda-kore en die Natuur se wondermooi musiek
  • Vrede en Sielerus

Baie dankie dat julle hierdie stukkie paradys met ons deel. ” – Mieke, Stephan en Marieke van Staden, PE, December 2015

Excellent experience! Will definitely come again.” – Christie and Casandra Smith, Blaauwberg, December 2015

“Absolutely excellent. Had an amazing time, will definitely recommend. A lovely stay. This place felt like home and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Absolutely beautiful place, stunning. Lovely people to be around, awesome place to be in. ” – Jackie and Pete Smith, Midrand, December 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay; will be coming back! Our stay as a family was indeed enjoyable. Coming from the City, this was a different experience for us, also not the usual beach holiday. Nikhara (10) added: What I like about this place is the gardens, the animals, the cottage and how pretty the place is. This place was amazing. ” – Nikhara, Sathvir, Rahoul, Seyana and Tilly Singh, Randburg, December 2015

“Wonderful. Coming back for more!” – Jennifer Potter, Cape Town, December 2015

Excellent hospitable service. Lovely quaint houses, we felt spoilt!” – Freddie Pohl, Lichtenburg, December 2015

“We had a wonderful, relaxing stay. Amazing view and so many activities. House is just too comfortable! Thanks for the support in extending our stay!” – Adele Tiegs, KZN, December 2015

We loved it! Beautiful and tranquil spot, we will definitely be back!” – Dr Attila Szabo, December 2015

“It was amazing, very peaceful! Explore the area, it’s worth it.” – Madeline Jansen, Blouberg, December 2015

An awesome experience overall. We had wonderful family time together! Drupkelders is an absolute must to hike to – wow!!! Froggy Pond’s sights and sounds are fantastic. The setting and eco-friendly environment wonderful!! We were very comfortable. The perfect place to come back to after a tough hike through the Knysna Forest. Lying on the hammock, reading a book and experiencing the sights and sounds of Forest Edge. Thanks for the memorable experience. Staff are friendly, knowledgable and go out of their way to improve your stay.” – Faisal and family Sultan, PE, December 2015

“A wonderful and most relaxing stay! Will definitely recommend and hope to be back some day. Good luck and thanks for making us feel so at home. Great spot!” – Ypie and Erik Ekkelkamp, Knysna, December 2015

“Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend. It was a very peaceful and relaxing stay. We will definitely be coming back again. Well planned.” – Jacques du Toit, PE, December 2015

“We were blown away by the whole experience. Thank you!!! Will definitely be back. Carry on doing exactly what you are doing; a superb undertaking.” – Lindsay Visser, Cape Town, December 2015

“If you’re wanting to escape the hustle and bustle and have nature on your doorstep, this is the place. Our chalet was private and met our every need.” – Elaine Alberts, George, December 2015

“What an awesome experience. Will recommend to all.” – Paula Boshoff, Empangeni, December 2015

Loved our stay! A fantastic way to start the holiday.” – James King, Cape Town, December 2015

“We had an absolutely amazing time. The courteous staff made us feel at home from the start.. we have great memories. We loved the calmness and tranquility that was ours. We loved the bath and the outdoor shower. We love the cottage! and the garden and surroundings. It’s amazingly beautiful and neat. Very well maintained. We enjoyed the walking trails, every day was a new experience… we enjoyed it thoroughly. It’s definitely value for money. Relaxing, healing, beautiful, creative and innovative.” – Lucinda and Heinrich Beukes, Cape Town, December 2015

“The whole experience was fantastic. Will recommend to our friends and family.” – Stuart Marchant, George, December 2015

“A beautiful tranquil setting. Quaint, beautifully kept cottages. Loved our stay.” – Chris Laros, Durbanville, December 2015

Wonderful stay. Jubilee Creek and Drupkelders were very special places. We loved the hammock, the outdoor shower and the donkeys! Thank you for offering such a respite and retreat – with care and attention to detail. The management is awesome, so clean organized and well-catered. Forest Edge is well worth the visit – especially for families with active and nature-loving kids. There are so many wonderful touches that allow one to return to the beauty and silence of nature, with many of the comforts of home. A superbly managed retreat. ” – Samantha Prigge, Somerset West, December 2015

“Awesome place to relax and unwind. Absolutely gorgeous. The ultimate nature experience! For all who love forests and the accommodation itself almost feels like a part of it. Will definitely come again.” – Riana Diesel, Centurion, November 2015

Baie mooi en gerieflik.” – Johan Bouwer, Pretoria, November 2015

“Great stay. A Lovers’ retreat! Most definitely will visit this place again.” – Valencia and Ashwin Meyer, November 2015

“Dankie vir al die nuttige inligting. Die ontvangs was uitstekend. Julle het die tuin in n groen lushof omskep en om net op die stoep te sit en kyk vir die netjiese tuin is al verkwikkend. Ons het ook groot waardering vir jul tuinier se entoesiasme! Min mense toon dit teenoor hul werk. Die chalet is fantasties. Ons begin dink aan n volgende keer wanneer ons die ander staproetes gaan aanpak!” – Julia en Jan van Leeuwen, Lynnwood Manor, November 2015

“Its a hidden treasure; we booked via the internet at the last moment. And then the surprise of this jewel… Het was een heerlyk plekje. Uitstekend verzorgd, mooie tuin, vriendelyke en informatieve Paul, die onze mtb’s vegelde. Mooie wandelingen en fietstocht over de trails vanhet NP. Voor herhaling vatbaar.” – Ellie and Jacob Verhoef, Netherlands, November 2015

A very special time. Thanks for all the info before arrival and for making us so welcome, giving us a wonderful tour of the garden and making a holiday a home. Great people working here! Outside shower = heaven. 1000% PEACE. Wonderfully managed. Can’t wait to come back here. ” – Ed O’Regan, Spain, November 2015

“Die hele ervaring was heerlik!! Kom ontspan gerus hier.” – Theresa Potgieter, Doornsriviervlei, November 2015

“We’ll be back for the wonderful ambiance, the warm hospitality and excellent facilities here at Forest Edge. We loved our stay and will be recommending people to come and stay! Your beautifully kept gardens and pond are such a credit. I love the rustic charm of these beautifully renovated loggers houses. A well run and professionally managed facility – perfect.” – Johan van Vuuren, UK, November 2015

“We absolutely loved our stay at Forest Edge, everything is considered and provided for. We were happy to align with nature and loved the outdoor shower very much!! We came on high recommendations from family and leave wanting to return and will be recommending Forest Edge to anyone who will listen : -) A lovely break.” – Nicolette Reilly, PE, November 2015

Excellent cottage, lovely place! Management very informative and helpful.” – David Burnett, London, UK, November 2015

“Its our second time here and we love it even more. Thanks for making our engagement special!” – Thomas Russel-Smith, Pretoria, November 2015

“You said this forest was magical
You spoke the truth
Thank you for a magical time
– F.D.A, Langebaan, November 2015

Great place to stay, very relaxing and peaceful. Thanks for the friendly assistance.” – Robin Moore, Cape Town, November 2015

“Absolute perfect piece of heaven in the forest. The ultimate in relaxation and being at one with nature. Will definitely return 🙂   It’s perfect!” – Kathryn Uren, UK, November 2015

Well worth a visit. The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Highly recommended. Our stay has been wonderful and restful. Thank you for the nighttime viewing of frogs and snakes. Totties was a good recommendation for Sunday lunch. Drupkelders is quite a climb and some fitness is required before tackling it.” – Sarah and Jim O’Neill, Durbanville, November 2015

“Great stay so near the forest, all the sounds and nice cottage. Good to see you take effort in taking the environment serious. We enjoyed! Blessings.” – Esther Tanis, Amsteveen, Netherlands, November 2015

Absolutely amazing experience, loved the closeness to the forest, incredible veggies from the fruit and veg forest.” – Liam Williams, Cape Town, November 2015

“Friendly welcome with personal touch, professional and friendly, wonderful gardens and surroundings.” – Kathleen Fox, Mauritius, November 2015

“We really enjoyed our stay. The manager was so friendly and helpful and taught us about the area and animals. We never realised the beauty of the Knysna Forest and how peaceful it is. Thanks for the helpful advice and interest you showed us. We had a lovely break!” – Claire Gillespie, Benoni, November 2015

“Forest Edge was truly amazing. The service was excellent from the start to the end. The nature interaction was on an absolutely next level. Would definitely recommend it for couples and the whole family. Keep up the good work Forest Edge. We will definitely come back soon!!” – Duwane Sabbat, Cape Town, November 2015

Een woord: ASEMROWEND!!!! Jy sal nooit weet hoe mooi, lekker en nice dit hier is voor jy nie self hier was nie. UITSTEKENDE diens, julle is tops! Dankie vir die ongelooflike wittebrood by Forest Edge. Julle personeel, verblyf, hernubare opset, omgewing en plaaslike aktiwiteite is AMAZING!!! Ons wens ons kon langer bly, maar wees verseker om ons jaarliks te sien.” – Alisha en Francois Esterhuizen, Vredenburg, October 2015

“Forest Edge is a wonderful place, from ambiance, ethics and vision, to every aspect of customer care and facilities management. A real gem. Every now and then we come across places that are ‘little gems’ and we wish we could stay longer. Forest Edge rates highly in our gem collection!! Many thanks for your welcome, attention to detail, information, customer care and professional management in delivering the Forest Edge ‘experience’. You obviously take great pride in Forest Edge and you have every reason to. Thanks to all the staff involved in its upkeep.” – Bruce Stainsby, North Yorkshire, UK, October 2015

Excellent stay – lovely location, very pleasant cottages, incredibly friendly management. Would love to come back for longer.” – Timothy Hugh Conway, Addis Ababa, October 2015

“A wonderful and peaceful stay. The attention to detail is noted and appreciated as this gives a full sense of a home away from home. Absolutely lovely stay. Coming back after 12 years, Forest Edge has only improved dramatically! Keep it up.” – Denise and Marc Nel, Somerset West, October 2015

Enjoyed it very much!!!!” – Wilna van der Walt, Cape Town, October 2015

“Forest Edge is one of the most tranquil places I have visited over the past months. The serenity and silence is amazing. The manager is a wonderful guide and source of information and I love the closeness of the forest. Everything works and we experienced an amazing stay.” – Deon Kitching, travel writer and blogger @travellingdeon, Paarl, October 2015

Lovely weekend – what I needed before my final university exams! Time went by too quickly, will definitely make it a longer stay next time.” – TJ Hudson, Saasveld, October 2015

“Thank you for the lovely stay. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, just listening to the birds and admiring your beautiful gardens. We will be back but for longer so that we can really enjoy this special area. Thanks for the interesting tour of the veggie garden.” – Tim & Rhona Adams, Constantia Hills, October 2015

“Ambiance is great; maintenance superb and overall experience amazing.” – Edna and Werner Smit, Cape Town, October 2015

“The best value that money can buy. Will always come back because it amazes us more each time we return. Tweede keer hier en weer eens was ons verwagtinge oorskry deur die uitstekende diens. Definitief nie ons laaste keer nie. Rustige groete,” – Andrea and Marcel Vermaak, Oudtshoorn, October 2015

Excellent. See you next year. Change nothing, everything was perfect.” – Nadia and Abraham van der Westhuizen, Somerset West, October 2015

“We had a very enriching experience! Hopefully we will be back soon. n Wonderlike ervaring en n heerlike uitrus! Dankie vir die pragtige blomme in die huis. Ons sal beslis terugkeer.” – Lizette, Louis, William, Benita and Chris Schoonwinkel, Wesselsbron/Hoopstad, October 2015

Wow! Awesome plekkie! Dankie vir die vriendelike hulp en vir die “gids” speel. Dankie aan die skoonmaker dat jy ons plekkie met soveel liefde versorg het tydens ons verblyf. Hierdie is voorwaar n plek van ‘rus en vrede. Sal beslis weer gebruik EN ten sterkste aanbeveel!” – Eddie Jnr, Hannie en Eddie Joubert, Kameeldrift Oos, October 2015

“Lovely, peaceful spot. Fastastically eco-friendly. Great access to mountain biking and walks.” – Leanne Luger, Cape Town, October 2015

Amazing retreat. Renewed honeymoon after 46 years. Please don’t change anything.” – Colin Millar, Umkomaas, October 2015

“Wonderful place to relax and be close to nature. Loads of activities for the adventure seeker. Wat n wonderlike plekkie! n Deel van ons wittebrood, en dit was baie spesiaal. Dankie vir die behulpsaamheid. Julle tuine is pragtig en dit blyk dat julle met alles moeite doen. Julle sien ons beslis weer.” – Sonette and Gerhard du Preez, Potchefstroom, October 2015

“A must visit place; add at least a day or two more than your original planned duration. There is simply more to do than time allows and everything is of the best class and experience. Big thank you that we had the opportunity to share in this very special place – what we think heaven should be like! Exceeded all our expectations. n Wonderlike stukkie aarde. Weet nie wat was die beste nie: Drupkelders, Kringe in die Bos, Sondag buffet by Totties, ete langs die Heads, stap tussen Buffelsbaai en Brenton, en die vriendelike twee lang-ore: Hanzel en Gretchen! Alles uit die boonste rakke.” – Renette and Francois Furstenburg, Sandton, October 2015

Lovely quiet place. Had a good rest. It is good the way it is. We had a peaceful and lovely time here. You have a very special place. Loved Hansel and Gretel too. Hope to be able to come back some time. Loved Drupkelders hike and Farmers Market; thanks for all your good recommendations.” – Lydia Lippmann, Holland, October 2015

“As close as you’ll get to staying in the magnificent Knysna forests. Laid back and down to earth, beautiful place. I’ll be back.” – Maarten Groos, Overberg, October 2015

“It was a very enjoyable stay, with warm hospitality.” – Michael Staegemann, Durban, Sep 2015

“It has truly been a treat staying at your wonderful peaceful Forest Edge. We feel so blessed. We couldn’t have stayed in a better cottage. We enjoyed the sound of frogs and the kids enjoyed finding a frog in the dark with their lanterns. Thank you for going the extra mile and lighting the bonfire (highlight of Luke’s holiday). Loved breathing in the fresh air. It’s been an absolute pleasure. Everyone was friendly and the service was excellent. And it was a pleasure meeting Hansel and Gretel, we will miss them! Hope to see you all soon. Love,” – Deena, Joshua, Luke & Robert Oxenham, Cape Town, Sep 2015

Excellent retreat. Good family fun. Keep it as it is.” – Fiona and Quinton Snyman, Cape Town, Sep 2015

“Baie dankie vir n heerlike vakansie, ons het vreeslik lekker gerus en gekuier. Dankie vir jul vriendelikheid!! Baie mooi!” – Dr Jacques van Rensburg, Somerset West, Sep 2015

“Forest Edge was a dream come true – from the beautiful surroundings, the cute cottages and the challenging walks around the area to the friendly staff and peace and quiet, the experience was simply superb! We will return!” – Neall Moore, Pretoria, Sep 2015

What an awesome experience!! So peaceful and tranquil, just what we needed. Highly recommended. We will definitely be seeing you again in the not too distant future! Fondest love.” – Barry and Velda Jacobs, Sep 2015

“Thank you for a very relaxing weekend, should have been longer. The manager is an excellent host.” – James Hemphill, Johannesburg, Sep 2015

Stukkie hemel op aarde… Ons kom DV weer! Die keer hopelik gouer eerder as later.” – Joanney & Roderick Mooi, Queenswood, Sep 2015

“An amazing space of tranquility in a crazy world. An incredible cozy inviting home-from-home, fresh flowers and plenty little extras touches. What a welcoming! Will be back; with gratitude and love.” – Tracey Young, Sep 2015

A lovely stay. All the special attention to the small details and the professional management of our booking and check-in made the visit all the more memorable.” – Jessica, Dilys and Chris Murray, Mosselbay, Sep 2015

“Ons het die see verruil vir die bos vir 2 dae. Dit was hemels. So rustig. So mooi.” – Helena & Carl Gerstner, Pringlebaai, Sep 2015

“All of us love Forest Edge and we will be back next year. ” – Bokkie de Villiers, Edenvale, Sep 2015

“Awesome and friendly place… nature at its best.. ” – Gavin Metzler, Port Elizabeth, Sep 2015

Excellent, impeccably clean, comfortable cottage in beautiful grounds. So peaceful – the starry skies are incredible. Best things – night sky with no light pollution, outside shower, comfortable bed, attention to detail. ” – Nancy Poole, London, UK, September 2015

Highly recommended. Wat n wonderlike manier om die lente te begin. Hierdie is a ware ‘island of gold in the sea of life’. ” – Chris en Karien van Niekerk, Northcliff, Sep 2015

“Thank you so much, this was a much needed break and Forest Edge fullfilled all my requirement and expectations; peace, tranquility and so much to see and do, I just loved it. The manager was an absolute delight and made may stay just that bit more special with his knowledge and enthusiasm, thank you! ” – Claire Hamilton, Plett, Sep 2015

Excellent! Keep up the good reputation! ” – Rev Eugene Gschwend, Pretoria, Sep 2015

“What an awesome place. Peaceful and very relaxing. Will recommend Forest Edge to our family and friends. Will be back! Awesome! ” – Amy and Colin Blight, Cape, Sep 2015

“We would love to return. Too much to see in surrounding area and spent too little time at Forest Edge. We would love to just sit and do some birdwatching. The manager is very efficient, friendly and informative. ” – Lorraine and Frederik Naude, Pretoria, Sep 2015

“What a great experience, great host, we will definitely be back. ” – Niel Swart, Sep 2015

Very peaceful and close to nature. Wonderful stay. ” – Dr Michelle Pazzi, Pretoria, Aug 2015

“Thanks to the friendly staff of Forest Edge for a fabulous and awesome time we experienced. The scenery was beautiful and tranquil and serene. Well done, we’ll be back soon. ” – Peter Adams, Cape Town, Aug 2015

“We really enjoyed our stay. Our 3 kids loved the jungle gym, the donkeys and forest. The hail storm added to the childrens’ wonder of nature. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay! ” – Carlo Texeira, Umdloti KZN, Aug 2015

An amazing stay. Will recommend this to all my family and friends. ” – Robin Cooley, Pretoria, Aug 2015

“This little piece of heaven absolutely blew our minds in every way possible. Everything was PERFECT; the most amazing accommodation there is to offer in this part of the world. You truly have a GEM in the heart of Nature. We absolutely loved the outside shower, the hammock was awesome, the outdoors were amazing. The forest was surreal. Sadly we did not see the Loerie, but we saw and heard the Fish Eagle and that was a real treat. We received a nice welcome and immediately felt at home. This Romantic Getaway has brought us so much closer. We will definitely be back and I will tell everyone about your amazing heaven! ” – CJ Trim, Cape Town, Aug 2015

“What a wonderful breakaway, highly recommended, will be back in the short future for sure. Thanks for making our memories last for a lifetime. ” – Retief Lourens, Bloubergstrand, Aug 2015

Onvergeetlik! Ons sal beslis weer kom. Die cottage het alles wat mens nodig het. Sal niks verander nie! ” – Jana Loots, Port Elizabeth, Aug 2015

“Forest Edge is everything we hoped it would be and more. Lovely, friendly, knowledgable staff and very accommodating. Many lodges claim to be eco-friendly, but Forest Edge really commits to this lifestyle. We would highly recommend it to anybody wanting to stay in the area. Wish we had more time here. So much to see and do. Thank you for a wonderful, unforgettable trip and to the helpful and interesting ground-staff! PS. Hansel and Gretel – we love you! ” – Jacky Lovato, Tokai, Aug 2015

“We had a lovely stay and amazing sleep. Thank you for the welcome and we will return for sure. ” – Schutz family, Belgium and Cape Town, August 2015

“We had a wonderful time and awesome experience; a home in a forest setting. We wish we could have stayed longer and of course the kids enjoyed themselves. ” – Clint and Shereen Sobotker, Cape Town, Aug 2015

“We were pleasantly surprised. It’s quiet, tranquil. The best place for a getaway weekend or a relaxing holiday. Close to everthing we wanted to see. Will come again, next time we will bring friends and family. ” – Nastassia Koch, Malmesbury, Aug 2015

“Ons het H-E-E-R-L-I-K ontspan en gekuier by Forest Edge. Alles wat vir ons belangrik is, was hier:
veilige akkommodasie,
skoon & netjies!,
– mooi natuurskoon (die beste),
– vriendelike gasvrye diens,
– heerlike ontspanne omgewing om in af te skakel,
– ‘no noise pollution‘ – amen,
– donkies paadjies & speelraam fantasties vir kinders,
snoesige cabin & kaggel,
heerlike bad &
privaatheid.
Forest Edge was regtig vir ons n ‘REFRESH BUTTON’. Ons hoop om voorts nog baie te kom en ‘regroup’ as a gesin. Baie dankie vir die uitmundende ‘vibe’ en diens.” – Liezel, Mila & Willem de Bruin, Stellenbosch, Aug 2015

“Thoroughly enjoyed it; definitely on my Top 10 destination list.
Soulful! ” – Jeanne Hattingh, George, July 2015

“Our FOURTH visit – looking forward to the next one. ” – Michael Meyer, Port Elizabeth, July 2015

“Thank you for making us so welcome and what a pleasant surprise. A total relaxation in 3 days. The cottage took us back to the old days, with added comfort. Peace and tranquility in abundance. Location awesome. Staff superb. Shall be back. ” – Anne, Mary & Peter Coles, Scotland, UK, July 2015

“We stayed here for 5 nights. It was great, the staff are awesome. Amber-Lee (7) had the best time with the donkeys. The bath is great! A great time had by all of us. Just cold – the fireplace is nice. ” – Tracy, Amber-Lee and Michael Evans, Tokai, July 2015

“Thanks for a super time. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.” – Tanya and Lloyd Samassa, Camps Bay, July 2015

A lovely stay and it was perfect for the kids too. Drupkelders is a must as the rock pools are beautiful.” – Nicky Perks, Hout Bay, July 2015

“What a beautiful and wonderful holiday house – the pond and serenity was just what we needed and the sauna and absolute win. The hammock was in permanent use. We had a fantastic time – it was such a beautiful house and relaxing time.” – Dr Madeleine Acton (Very first guests in our Falcon House), Kommetjie, July 2015

Wish we’d booked a week! A fabulous retreat. The manager couldn’t be more helpful, going above and beyond the call of duty. Fabulous surroundings, beautiful comfortable cottages with every detail thought of down to the fresh wild flowers in the lounge, the bucket of kindling and wood for the fireplace and the clothes horse in the bathroom. We recommend the 9km walk and although we are NOT the fittest, we managed it in 2.5 hours. Saw a troop of baboons and even signs of recent elephant activity. Just wonderful. Highly recommended.” – Dr Sarah Galvani, Cumbria, UK, July 2015

“Great stuff AS USUAL. Very nice and comfy chalet.” – Rigardt Maartens, Roodekrans, July 2015

Beautiful surroundings. Great for children and hikers. Cottages smaller than expected. (Owner’s note: we invite guests to explore floorplan and sqm of cottages here to manage expectations.)” – Sean de Stadler, Cape Town, July 2015

“Peace and quiet in abundance.” – Andre Rossouw, Cape Town, July 2015

Very very nice stay and near to the forest. Will be back! Baie lekker gebly, ons kom weer, baie dankie!” – Philna en Michiel de Villiers, Worcester, July 2015

“This was an awesome experience, amazing staff, surrounds and wonderful not to have wifi (in the standard cottage) and to be away from city stresses.” – Hazel Dollman, Houtbay, July 2015

“We had a wonderful stay at Forest Edge – the peace and tranquility surpassed our expectations. We will be back…” – Jennifer Furter, Newlands, June 2015

Very enjoyable experience. Chilly in winter, but able to get the cottage warm.” – Emma von Klemperer, Diep River, Cape Town, June 2015

“What a fantastic experience. Feeling relaxed and rejuvenated.” – Louis Kruger, June 2015

“A real fantastic stay, and rest. Thank you very much.” – Archie van Dyke, Stilbaai,  June 2015

Lovely stay. We enjoyed ourselves and the kids loved the play park and Jubilee walk. The shower outside was another experience! Thanks very much. We’ll come again.” – Nomonde Ngqula, Cape Town, June 2015

“Baie dankie vir n weer eens heerlike ontspanning by julle. Die opwinding van voels, wandel en rustigheid in die natuur en selfs n bobbejaan blaf, laat ons altyd terugkeer.” – Jurie en Rita, Roodepoort, June 2015

“We shuffled around our whole holiday in order to have a couple of days at Forest Edge, and our hearts sank when we learnt that an electrical blow-out threatened our opportunity to stay. But the owner and staff somehow managed to keep the place running, and they could not have been more accommodating, helpful and friendly. We appreciated the whole experience as part of our adventure, and just piled on the extra blankets. The cottage itself is delightful and we lacked nothing. The charming touches were very sweet. I loved being able to lie in the hammock and listen to the birds. The location is superb. We enjoyed the ‘Circles in a Forest’ walk very much and were thrilled to see a troop of baboons. The Drupkelders walk was more challenging than expected – be aware that it is steep and a week after heavy rain it was very slippery. We enjoyed watching the DVD about the Knysna elephants and we are now heading to Addo in the hope of seeing some for ourselves! Thank you for our wonderful stay!” – Jo and Ally MacDonald, UK, June 2015

hoto:Knysna Self Catering Accommodation Christopher van Zyl, Jun 2012, "where magic happens"
Photo: Christopher van Zyl, Jun 2012, "where magic happens"
Photo by Catherine Jansen v Rensburg (April 2010), she says: "A stukkie hemel op aarde!"
Anna Gauche (age 83) resting on the rocks after doing the Drupkelders trail down to the gorge
The "blessed" woodcutter graves at Forest Edge - by the delightful honeymooners, Zack & Celeste de Beer (Sept 2010)
The "blessed" woodcutter graves at Forest Edge - by the delightful honeymooners, Zack & Celeste de Beer (Sept 2010)